Soon­ers’ May­field takes top AP honor

The Denver Post - - SPORTS - By Ralph D. Russo

NEW YORK» Baker May­field was named The As­so­ci­ated Press col­lege foot­ball player of the year, be­com­ing the fourth Ok­la­homa quar­ter­back to win the award since it was es­tab­lished in 1998.

May­field eas­ily out­pointed Stan­ford run­ning back Bryce Love, who came in sec­ond. Louisville quar­ter­back La­mar Jack­son, the other fi­nal­ist and last year’s Heis­man Tro­phy win­ner, was third in the award an­nounced Thurs­day.

May­field re­ceived 51 first­place votes from the 56 vot­ers who sub­mit­ted player of the year bal­lots, and a to­tal of 157 points. Love (83 points) and Jack­son (39 points) each re­ceived two first-place votes and Penn State run­ning Saquon Barkley re­ceived a first-place vote and came in fourth.

May­field, Love and Jack­son are also the fi­nal­ists for the Heis­man, which will be handed out Satur­day night.

May­field is a former walk-on who has led the No. 2 Soon­ers to the Col­lege Foot­ball Play­off, where they will play No. 3 Ge­or­gia in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1. May­field leads the nation in passer ef­fi­ciency rat­ing and has thrown for 4,340 yards and 41 touch­downs.

He joins Josh He­u­pel (2000), Ja­son White (2003) and Sam Brad­ford (2008) as pre­vi­ous win­ners from Ok­la­homa. No other school has had more than two play­ers win AP player of the year.

“I’m on this awards trip right now with a lot of great play­ers from OU and other schools, and ev­ery one of them de­serves to be rec­og­nized. To re­ceive this award is an honor and it’s some­thing just a few years ago I never thought would hap­pen,” May­field said.

May­field also won the Wal­ter Camp and Maxwell Award as player of the year, as well as the Davey O’Brien Award as the top quar­ter­back.

Other awards

Chuck Bed­narik Award (de­fen­sive player)

Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama Bilet­nikoff Award (re­ceiver) James Washington, Okla. State Lou Groza Award (kicker) Matt Gay, Utah

Ray Guy Award (punter) Michael Dick­son, Texas Maxwell Award (player of the year)

Baker May­field, Ok­la­homa Davey O’Brien Award (quar­ter­back)

Baker May­field, Ok­la­homa Out­land Tro­phy (in­te­rior line­man)

Ed Oliver, Hous­ton

Jim Thorpe Award (de­fen­sive back)

Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama Doak Walker Award (run­ning back)

Bryce Love, Stan­ford

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.