KU cen­ter Azubuike hon­ored by USBWA

The Kansas City Star - - Sports - BY GARY BEDORE [email protected]­star.com

Kansas se­nior cen­ter Udoka Azubuike has been se­lected as a first-team All-Amer­ica by the United States Bas­ket­ball Writ­ers As­so­ci­a­tion, it was an­nounced Mon­day.

KU sopho­more point guard Devon Dot­son was named sec­ond-team by the or­ga­ni­za­tion.

Mem­bers of the USBWA first team were Azubuike, Luka Garza, Iowa; Markus Howard, Mar­quette; Myles Pow­ell, Se­ton Hall and Obi Top­pin, Day­ton.

The sec­ond team con­sisted of Dot­son plus Ver­non Carey, Duke; Malachi Flynn, San Diego State; Pay­ton Pritchard, Ore­gon and Cas­sius Win­ston, Michi­gan State.

Bay­lor’s Jared But­ler made the third team, along with Tre Jones, Duke; Jordan Nwora, Louisville; Filip Petru­sev, Gon­zaga; and Jalen Smith, Mary­land.

Four or­ga­ni­za­tions that se­lect All-Amer­ica teams are used by the NCAA to de­ter­mine con­sen­sus All-Amer­ica sta­tus: The As­so­ci­ated Press, the U.S. Bas­ket­ball Writ­ers As­so­ci­a­tion, Na­tional As­so­ci­a­tion of Bas­ket­ball Coaches and the Sport­ing News.

Of those four, the AP, Sport­ing News and USBWA have re­leased their All-Amer­ica teams. The Sport­ing News and AP had Dot­son and Azubuike on the sec­ond team.

The NABC will re­lease its All-Amer­ica team Tues­day. ESPN.com re­cently put out an All-Amer­i­can team that had Dot­son and Azubuike on the first team.

Mean­while on Mon­day, KU ju­nior guard Mar­cus Gar­rett was

named one of four fi­nal­ists for 2020 Nai­smith De­fen­sive Player of the Year as pre­sented by the At­lanta Tipoff Club.

Fi­nal­ists are Gar­rett, Ash­ton Ha­gans (Ken­tucky), Tre Jones (Duke) and Mark Vi­tal (Bay­lor). The fi­nal­ists were cho­sen by the At­lanta Tipoff Club’s board of se­lec­tors, made up of sports jour­nal­ists from around the coun­try, who based their se­lec­tions on out­stand­ing on­court de­fen­sive per­for­mances dur­ing the 2019-20 sea­son.

The win­ners are sched­uled to be an­nounced on April 1, and each win­ner will be hon­ored with a cer­e­mony at a later date.

This is the third year of the Nai­smith De­fen­sive Player of the Year Award. West Vir­ginia’s Jevon Carter was the first re­cip­i­ent in 2018 and Matisse Thy­bulle of Wash­ing­ton was last year’s win­ner.

RICH SUGG [email protected]­star.com

KU’s Udoka Azubuike dunks over TCU’s Edric Den­nis, left, and Jaire Grayer dur­ing a Big 12 game March 4 at Allen Field­house.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.