Col­lege awards

Tua wins Wal­ter Camp, Max­well

The Maui News - - FRONT PAGE -

Alabama quar­ter­back Tua Tago­v­ailoa topped Ok­la­homa’s Kyler Mur­ray in col­lege foot­ball player of the year awards on Thurs­day, win­ning the Max­well Award at ESPN’s Col­lege Foot­ball Awards show in At­lanta shortly af­ter be­ing named the re­cip­i­ent of the Wal­ter Camp award.

Tago­v­ailoa, a sopho­more out of Saint Louis School on Oahu, beat out Mur­ray, Wash­ing­ton State quar­ter­back Gard­ner Min­shew, West Vir­ginia quar­ter­back Will Grier and Ken­tucky line­backer Josh Allen for the Wal­ter Camp Player of the Year Award. He then won the Max­well Award over Mur­ray and Grier.

Ear­lier in the day, Mur­ray was named AP Player of the Year. He then won the Davey O’Brien as top quar­ter­back. Tago­v­ailoa was a fi­nal­ists for that, too.

Mur­ray and Tago­v­ailoa will now head to New York City as Heisman Tro­phy fi­nal­ists, with the win­ner more un­cer­tain than usual. Ohio State quar­ter­back Dwayne Hask­ins Jr. also is a fi­nal­ist for the Heisman, which will be pre­sented Satur­day.

“As a kid you dream of this, win­ning a Heisman or just any in­di­vid­ual award in gen­eral,” Tago­v­ailoa said in an in­ter­view on ESPN’s “Sport­sCen­ter” af­ter ac­cept­ing his Wal­ter Camp award. “I think it would be amaz­ing if I did win it, but if I didn’t, I mean, we’ve still got to fin­ish out our sea­son. It’s not an in­di­vid­ual sport, it’s a team sport, and the best thing I have to of­fer to my team is giv­ing it all I can.”

The last five Wal­ter Camp win­ners won the Heisman Tro­phy and the last four Max­well win­ners have won the Heisman, but only twice since 2002 has the AP Player of the Year not won the Heisman — Ne­braska’s Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Stan­ford’s Chris­tian McCaf­frey in 2015.

Mur­ray and Tago­v­ailoa will then face each other in the Col­lege Foot­ball Play­off, when No. 1 Alabama plays No. 4 Ok­la­homa at the Orange Bowl semi­fi­nal on Dec. 29.

The rest of the col­lege foot­ball award win­ners Thurs­day were:

■ Ken­tucky line­backer Josh Allen won the Chuck Bed­narik award as the na­tion’s top de­fen­sive player.

■ Alabama de­fen­sive tackle Quin­nen Wil­liams won the Out­land Tro­phy as the na­tion’s top in­te­rior line­man.

■ Ge­or­gia cor­ner­back De­an­dre Baker won the Jim Thorpe Award as the na­tion’s top de­fen­sive back.

■ Wis­con­sin’s Jonathan Tay­lor won the Doak Walker as the na­tion’s best run­ning.

■ Alabama’s Jerry Jeudy won the Bilet­nikoff Award as the na­tion’s top wide re­ceiver.

■ Syra­cuse kicker An­dre Szmyt won the Lou Groza Award.

■ Texas A&M punter Braden Mann won the Ray Guy Award.

AP photo

Tua Tago­v­ailoa of Alabama poses with the Max­well Award and Wal­ter Camp tro­phies af­ter his wins at the Col­lege Foot­ball Awards on Thurs­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.