The Morning Journal (Lorain, OH)

AP preseason All-Americans are unveiled

- By Ralph D. Russo

Notre Dame and Iowa State each had three players selected to The Associated Press preseason All-America team, led by Fighting Irish defensive back Kyle Hamilton and Cyclones running back Breece Hall.

The preseason All-America team presented by Regions Bank was released Aug. 23, five days before the first games of the season kickoff.

Eight teams have at least two first-team All-Americans, with seventh-ranked Iowa State and ninth-ranked Notre Dame leading the way.

Along with Hall, Iowa State is represente­d on the first team by tight end Charlie Kolar and linebacker Mike Rose. Hamilton is joined by Fighting Irish teammates Cain Madden, a guard who transferre­d from Marshall in the offseason, and running back Kyren Williams, who made the team as an allpurpose player.

Oklahoma’s Spencer Rattler is the first-team quarterbac­k and Sooners teammate Nik Bonitto made the team at linebacker.

Defending national champion Alabama is represente­d on the first team by outside linebacker Will

Anderson Jr., and offensive tackle Evan Neal.

Clemson’s two first-team All-Americans were receiver Justyn Ross, who missed all last season with a neck injury, and defensive lineman Bryan Bresee.

Ohio State’s Chris Olave is the other first-team receiver, and Buckeyes defensive tackle Haskell Garrett made the preseason first team after being a secondteam selection after last season.

LSU (cornerback Derek Stingley Jr. and kicker Cade York) and Texas A&M (tackle Kenyon Green and defensive end DeMarvin Leal) each had two firstteam All-Americans.

Hall and Northweste­rn safety Brandon Joseph were the only preseason All-Americans who are coming off firstteam

All-America seasons.

First team

Offense QUARTERBAC­K >> Spencer Rattler, sophomore, Oklahoma.

RUNNING BACKS >> Breece Hall, junior, Iowa State; Bijan Robinson, sophomore, Texas.

TACKLES >> Evan Neal, junior, Alabama; Kenyon Green, junior, Texas A&M. GUARDS >> Cain Madden, senior, Notre Dame; Zion Johnson, senior, Boston College.

CENTER >> Tyler Linderbaum, junior, Iowa.

TIGHT END >> Charlie Kolar, senior, Iowa State.

WIDE RECEIVERS >> Chris Olave, senior, Ohio State; Justyn Ross, junior, Clemson.


Kyren Williams, sophomore, Notre Dame. KICKER >> Cade York, junior, LSU.


ENDS >> Kayvon Thibodeaux, junior, Oregon; DeMarvin Leal, junior, Texas A&M. TACKLES >> Haskell Garrett, super senior, Ohio State; Bryan Bresee, sophomore, Clemson.

LINEBACKER­S >> Will Anderson Jr., sophomore, Alabama; Nik Bonitto, junior, Oklahoma; Mike Rose, senior, Iowa State. CORNERBACK­S >> Derek Stingley, Jr., junior, LSU; Ahmad Gardner, junior, Cincinnati.

SAFETIES >> Kyle Hamilton, junior, Notre Dame; Brandon Joseph, sophomore, Northweste­rn.

PUNTER >> Jake Camarda, senior, Georgia.

 ?? MATTHEW PUTNEY — THE ASSOCIATED PRESS ?? Iowa State running back Breece Hall runs the ball against West Virginia during the first half of a 2020 game in Ames, Iowa.
MATTHEW PUTNEY — THE ASSOCIATED PRESS Iowa State running back Breece Hall runs the ball against West Virginia during the first half of a 2020 game in Ames, Iowa.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States