The News-Times

U.S. to lift travel ban on southern Africa


The U.S. will lift travel restrictio­ns on eight southern African countries that it imposed to try to blunt the spread of the COVID omicron variant, the White House announced Friday.

The variant, which was first detected by scientists in South Africa, has since spread around the world. The World Health Organizati­on and leaders in southern Africa criticized the travel ban as ineffectiv­e and unfairly damaging to local economies.

The Nov. 29 ban barred nearly all nonU.S. citizens who had recently been in South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Namibia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique and Zimbabwe. The restrictio­ns will be lifted on New Year’s Eve.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States