Heis­man Tro­phy win­ner to be an­nounced tonight

The Republican Herald - - BUSINESS / SPORTS - By rALpH D. russo

NEW YORK — Tua Tago­v­ailoa rolled across the floor of the New York Stock Ex­change on a black scooter with a lit­tle Alabama sticker on the front, his sprained left an­kle in a gray plas­tic boot, safely propped up as he pushed off with his right foot.

The Crim­son Tide quar­ter­back and fel­low Heis­man Tro­phy fi­nal­ists Kyler Mur­ray of Ok­la­homa and Dwayne Hask­ins of Ohio State were on Wall Street on Fri­day to ring the closing bell on a day the Dow Jones In­dus­trial Av­er­age closed down 558 points.

Stock for the three first- year starters has been soar­ing this sea­son. A year ago they were sec­ond on their team’s depth chart. To­day, one of them will win the Heis­man Tro­phy.

Tago­v­ailoa picked up where he left off in the sec­ond half of last sea­son’s na­tional cham­pi­onship game vic­tory against Ge­or­gia to lead the top- ranked Crim­son Tide back to the play­off as a sopho­more.

Hask­ins, a third- year sopho­more, stepped in af­ter the de­par­ture of a four- year starter and smashed Ohio State and Big Ten pass­ing records.

Mur­ray, a fourth- year junior, re­placed last sea­son’s Heis­man win­ner and had an even bet­ter sea­son than his pre­de­ces­sor. Mur­ray waited the long­est to fi­nally take over a team, trans­fer­ring from Texas A& M af­ter a rocky fresh­man sea­son, tak­ing a red­shirt year to sat­isfy NCAA trans­fer rules and then back­ing up Baker May­field in 2017.

“I think sit­ting down and watch­ing is kind of im­por­tant,” Mur­ray said. “I know Dwayne got to sit and watch. Tua ob­vi­ously got to sit and watch. I think it just helps you with your growth and ma­tur­ing on and off the field. I think that’s a big part.”

For the 16th time in the last 19 years, a quar­ter­back will win col­lege foot­ball’s most cov­eted in­di­vid­ual award and that should not be a sur­prise this sea­son. This has been the year of the quar­ter­back, with FBS records for com­ple­tion per­cent­age, yards per pass and yards pass­ing per game all within range as bowl sea­son ar­rives. For the first time since 2008, when Ok­la­homa’s Sam Brad­ford, Texas’ Colt McCoy and Florida’s Tim Te­bow were the Heis­man fi­nal­ists, only quar­ter­backs were in­vited to New York for the tro­phy pre­sen­ta­tion.

Army- navy ri­valry fea­tures trump

toss­ing coin at 119th game

PHILADEL­PHIA — A gen­eral’s pep talk about ac­tual life- and- death bat­tles emerged as a driv­ing force this sea­son for the Army foot­ball team.

In the Army, the gen­eral said, you win or you die.

Far more con­se­quen­tial than brag­ging rights on the foot­ball field, but use­ful for a team that no longer ends its sea­son against Navy.

“It is dra­matic,” team cap­tain Cole Chris­tiansen said. “But I think it’s helped us a lot.”

Chris­tiansen has been part of Army’s turn­around from peren­nial los­ing pro­gram to its lofty sta­tus to­day: ranked in the AP Top 25 for the first time since 1996, on a se­v­engame win­ning streak, headed to a bowl game and a 7- point fa­vorite in Satur­day’s 119th meet­ing against Navy.

The Army- Navy ri­valry has of­ten been known as pa­tri­otic — and for years, one of the most lop­sided in sports. Navy hooked an an­chor to the Com­man­der- in- Chief ’s Tro­phy with a se­ries- best 14- game win­ning streak from 2002- 2015.

The No. 22 Black Knights ( 9- 2) are on top these days, win­ners of two straight in the se­ries headed into to­day’s game at Lin­coln Fi­nan­cial Field, home of the Su­per Bowl cham­pion Philadel­phia Ea­gles. Last sea­son’s game was an in­stant clas­sic: Ben­nett Moehring nar­rowly missed a 48- yard field goal in the snow on the fi­nal play and Army held off Navy 14- 13 to win the CIC Tro­phy for the first time since 1996.

Navy leads 60- 51- 7.

Pres­i­dent Don­ald Trump will of­fi­ci­ate the coin toss to­day in his first Army- Navy game as pres­i­dent, where he’s also ex­pected to make an an­nounce­ment con­cern­ing the Joint Chiefs of Staff.


Heis­man Tro­phy fi­nal­ists, from left, Dwayne Hask­ins, from Ohio State; Kyler Mur­ray, of Ok­la­homa; and Tua Tago­v­ailoa, from Alabama; pose with the Heis­man Tro­phy at the New York Stock Ex­change on Fri­day in New York.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.