Howard back in vic­tory lane at Big Di­a­mond

The Southern Berks News - - SPORTS - By Ken­neth Bruce

Duane Howard is used to win­ning races at Big Di­a­mond Speed­way, af­ter all Howard is the track’s sec­ond most win­ningest driver of all-time. But in re­cent years the wins have not come so eas­ily for the Oley driver at the Schuylkill County dirt oval. As a mat­ter of fact, you would have to go all the way back to May 29, 2015 to find the last time Howard won in a points pay­ing event at the speed­way. Howard did man­age to win the track’s big­gest race of the year last sea­son when he won the “Coal­cracker 72” race in Septem­ber and Howard was also vic­to­ri­ous in this year’s “Money on the Moun­tain” race back in April but those were not points pay­ing events.

“We had a good night tonight,” said Howard. “The restarts went our way tonight and ev­ery­thing worked out for us. Godown got by me on that one restart when he beat me to the bot­tom in turn one, but we caught a break when the yel­low came back out. Restarts are the key here at Big Di­a­mond and you have to be ready to go when the green flag comes out and if you’re not you won’t win. I was on my restart game tonight and it paid off.”

In the 20-lap U.S.S. Achey sports­man fea­ture it was Doug Hen­dricks fi­nally able to grab his first vic­tory of the sea­son. Hen­dricks has been close on a few oc­ca­sions but has not been able to close the deal un­til tonight.

Re­sults Sav­age 61 Night 6/8/2018 The Mat­tera’s Elec­tri­cal Mod­i­fied division was won by Duane Howard fol­lowed by Ryan Godown, Shawn Fitzpatrick, Craig VonDohren, Ryan Krachun, Frank Yankowski, Heath Met­zger, Ray Swine­hart, Kevin Beach, Frank Por­reca, Jim Bob­bitt, Jimmy Rep­pert, Grant Hilfiger and Steve Young. Did not fin­ish were Kris Graver, Jeff Strunk, Tim Buck­wal­ter, Ryan Kun­kle, Cliff Quinn, Billy Pauch Jr., Billy Lasko, Mike Lisowski, Briggs Dan­ner and Jared Um­ben­hauer. Did not start was Scott Al­bert. Did not qual­ify were Andy Burkhart and John Will­man. The mod­i­fied heats were won by Ryan Godown, Shawn Fitzpatrick and Jeff Strunk. There was no con­so­la­tion. The U.S.S. Achey Sports­man division was won by Doug Hen­dricks fol­lowed by Wayne Wit­mer, Craig Whit­moyer, Daryl Dissinger, Alex Yankowski, Nate Klinger, Shawn Light, Dakota Kohler, Tim Fitzpatrick, Jack But­ler, Dy­lan Smith, Ray Woodall Sr., Ken Eck­ert Jr., Tyler Re­ber, Mike Sch­neck, Lo­gen Snyder, Ed Mrochko, Paul Houseknecht and Chris Bren­nan. Did not fin­ish were Ray Woodall Jr., Dave Dissinger, Kevin Brady and Brian Houseknecht. The sports­man heats were won by Tyler Re­ber, Daryl Dissinger and Alex Yankowski. No con­so­la­tion was needed. The Sav­age 61 Road Run­ner division was won by An­drew Fayash III fol­lowed by Chris Hol­land, Matt Ney, Mike Re­ichert, Jim Kost, Shawn Mul­hall, Terry Kramer and Shon Elk. Did not fin­ish were Kris Ney, Fred Everly, Cory Lin­den­muth and Ray Gara. The road run­ner heats were won by An­drew Fayash III and Chris Hol­land. The No Sweat Ser­vice Group Street Stock division was won by Elvin Bren­nan III fol­lowed by Eric Tripp, Jeremy Becker, Joey Bren­nan, Mike Radocha, Kyle Say­lor and Kody Sites. Did not fin­ish were Chris Heller, Jesse Kras­nit­sky, Robin Wag­ner and Dean Hine. The street stock heats were won by Elvin Bren­nan III and Kody Sites. The en­duro was won by Scott Rig­gle­man fol­lowed by Vin­nie Wen­rich, Seth Re­ichert, Chris Graver and Scott Lord. Did not fin­ish were Josh Fer­raiolo, Jacob Baver and Eric Ga­balis.

Ac­tion Track USA

With rain fall­ing heav­ily af­ter the com­ple­tion of the Ju­nior Sling­shot Fea­ture event Cham­pi­onship En­ergy Ac­tion Track USA of­fi­cials were forced to can­cel the re­main­der of the Glick Fire Equip­ment First Re­spon­ders Night on June 3.

Rain hit Ac­tion Track USA again on June 10 and post­poned Sun­day’s race.

On June 3, Ai­dan Davidson scored the win in the Ju­nior Sling­shot Fea­ture event be­fore the rains came.

Ju­nior Sling­shot Fea­ture, 15 laps: 1.Ai­dan Davidson, 2.Shelby McLaugh­lin, 3.Paulie Hartwig III, 4.Lo­gan Bau­man, 5.Tyler Ulsh, 6.James Hen­dricks, 7.Wy­att Taschler, 8.Payton Nemeth, 9.Makayla Kohler, 10.Mor­gan LaBuda, 11.Kasey Huf­cut, 12.Jax Yohn.


Tyler Ulsh (#1) and Kasey Huf­cut (#72) were bat­tling for the lead in the Ju­nior Sling­shot main event when the two young driv­ers tan­gled in turn four of the fi­nal lap send­ing both cars into the re­tain­ing wall dur­ing ac­tion at Ac­tion Track USA on June 3.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.