Polk early vot­ing con­tin­ues

Early vot­ing will wrap up Nov. 3 in Cedar­town be­fore Elec­tion Day on Nov. 7.

The Standard Journal - - FRONT PAGE - By Kevin Myrick SJ Ed­i­tor

Early vot­ing con­tin­ues in Polk County as lo­cal res­i­dents are slowly get­ting to the polls early to take part in the elec­tion for mu­nic­i­pal can­di­dates and for the coun­ty­wide de­ci­sion on ex­tend­ing the E-SPLOST to 2026.

So far, the Polk County Board of Elections re­ports that more than 85 vot­ers in to­tal have cast bal­lots at their of­fice in Cedar­town in per­son. An­other 11 have re­quested ab­sen­tee bal­lots, and sev­eral of those have come back in as part of the full tally.

Polls of­fi­cially opened on last week on Oct. 16 for early vot­ing, and con­tin­ues through Nov. 3.

Vot­ers can come to the Board of Elections of­fice through next week to get into the polls early dur­ing reg­u­lar busi­ness hours. The poll is located within the Polk County Ad­min­is­tra­tion build­ing at 144 West Ave., Cedar­town. They are open dur­ing reg­u­lar busi­ness hours, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The op­tion for Rock­mart vot­ers to get in ahead of the Nov. 7 elec­tion will start on Oct. 30 and con­tinue through Nov. 3, with the Nathan Dean Com­mu­nity Cen­ter on Goodyear Street as the polling sta­tion. It will also be open dur­ing reg­u­lar busi­ness hours.

No Satur­day vot­ing will be held this year, since no na­tional- based po­si­tions are on the bal­lot for 2017.

Vot­ers in Cedar town and Aragon will be se­lect­ing new rep­re­sen­ta­tives to fill seats for up­com­ing terms. Cedar­town com­mis­sion­ers Matt Foster and Jor­dan Hub­bard are look­ing to get re-elected to their po­si­tions, with Jes­sica Pay­ton and Pa­trick McNally also seek­ing to fill an open seat on the board, or un­seat one of the in­cum­bents.

A trio of open seats is avail­able in Aragon, with four can­di­dates on the bal­lot there as well. Amy Causey, Can­dace Seiz, Michelle Wil­son and Jud­son Fee are all seek­ing to fill seats that have been left open by res­ig­na­tions, and one held by in­cum­bent Hunter Spinks who has cho­sen not to run for a new term.

Two weeks ago, Wil­son dropped out of the race but re­mains on the bal­lot and thus the elec­tion will con­tinue for the com­ing terms in Aragon, but de­spite bal­lots be­ing cast Causey, Seiz and Fee will all take seats in Jan­uary.

Rock­mart’s Board of Ed­u­ca­tion Dis­trict 6 seat is also con­tested this year, with lo­cal res­i­dents seek­ing to choose from in­terim school board mem­ber Judy Wig­gins, who seeks to fill the seat per­ma­nently, along with can­di­dates Carolyn Williams and Chris Culver.

Coun­ty­wide, vot­ers are be­ing asked to de­cide whether to ex­tend the cur­rent E-SPLOST set to ex­pire in 2021 to 2026, al­low­ing for a new phase of con­struc­tion projects at Cedar­town High School and Rock­mart High School, along with a num­ber of re­pairs in school build­ings around the county.

Those with ques­tions or need help vot­ing can con­tact the Board of Elections of­fice at 770749-2103.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.