Foster voted as new Chair, Tuck as Vice Chair to start year for Cedar­town Com­mis­sion

City also cel­e­brates em­ploy­ees, pend­ing re­tire­ment of As­sis­tant Fire Chief Scott Jack­son

The Standard Journal - - FRONT PAGE - By Kevin Myrick [email protected]­stan­dard­jour­

The Cedar­town City Com­mis­sion saw a chang­ing of the guard for the start of 2019 at their open­ing meeting of the year with a new chair and vice chair tak­ing charge of the board.

Com­mis­sioner Matt Foster was voted unan­i­mously by the board to take over for Com­mis­sioner Jor­dan Hub­bard to take over as chair for the year, and Com­mis­sioner Dale Tuck will take over the Vice Chair po­si­tion as the first or­der of busi­ness for the board’s Jan­uary ses­sion.

Foster praised Hub­bard’s lead­er­ship dur­ing his ten­ure as chair at the meeting’s tail end, and echoed com­ments from his fel­low com­mis­sion­ers about how well they’ve all worked to­gether over the years in fol­low-up com­ments.

“I first want to thank our out­go­ing chair­man Jor­dan Hub­bard, who has ably led this board the past two years, as well my other fel­low com­mis­sion­ers, for putting their vote of con­fi­dence in me,” Foster said. “It con­tin­ues to be my honor to rep­re­sent the peo­ple of our city, and I am look­ing for­ward to an­other year of progress with a won­der­ful, peo­ple-cen­tered com­mis­sion and ad­min­is­tra­tion.”

Hub­bard dur­ing his com­ments at meeting’s end that “I do love my city and thank­ful that you have al­lowed me to serve.”

Cel­e­bra­tions were also held to honor the ser­vice of As­sis­tant Fire Chief Scott Jack­son af­ter his 25 year ca­reer with the Cedar­town Fire De­part­ment comes to a close at Jan­uary’s end.

He was pre­sented with a gift from the city to honor his ser­vice, and was the last hon­ored for the night dur­ing em­ployee longevity awards as well.

Many other em­ploy­ees also were hon­ored for their hard work over the past year. Michael Hooper was named this year’s Bobby Alexan­der Pub­lic Works Award win­ner for the City of Cedar­town.

Of­fi­cer Tyler Ea­son won the Ray Mer­ritt Pub­lic Safety Award, and Aimee Mad­den was hon­ored with the Emily Shaw Ad­min­is­tra­tion Award win­ner for 2019.

Ad­di­tion­ally, em­ploy­ees with five years of ser­vice that in­cluded ..., and em­ploy­ees with 10 years of ser­vice that were hon­ored in­cluded .... .

Com­mis­sion­ers got to also hear the good news of an em­ployee earn­ing a pro­mo­tion. City Man­ager Bill Fann an­nounced that Mitzi Allen was re­cently named the new As­sis­tant City Clerk, tak­ing over for Ed­ward Guz­man af­ter his pro­mo­tion to As­sis­tant City Man­ager.

Allen is ex­pected to at­tend ad­di­tional train­ing for mu­nic­i­pal clerks later this year.

The cel­e­bra­tion of em­ploy­ees ex­tended into the com­mis­sioner’s com­ments on Mon­day night, when each had their own par­tic­u­lar good words of en­cour­age­ment for all those who serve day to day to keep the city func­tion­ing.

Pay­ton’s com­ments near the end of the night made it clear that when she and other com­mis­sion­ers are rep­re­sent­ing the city statewide, what they hear from ev­ery­one else is noth­ing but praise for what “great em­ploy­ees we have in Cedar­town.”

“Great things are hap­pen­ing in Cedar­town even though you aren’t see­ing and feel­ing it right in the mo­ment, most peo­ple no­tice what’s go­ing on,” she said.

Dur­ing Jan­uary’s meeting, Com­mis­sion­ers also ap­proved keep­ing An­drew Roper as the city’s mu­nic­i­pal court judge, and State Rep. Trey Kel­ley as their so­lic­i­tor in his day job as an at­tor­ney.

They were also sup­posed to hear from a rep­re­sen­ta­tive of the U.S. Cen­sus Bureau, but they were un­able to at­tend ac­cord­ing to Fann.

Com­mis­sion­ers Matt Foster and Jor­dan Hub­bard traded the gavel on Mon­day night as Foster took over as the chair for the Cedar­town board from Hub­bard. Kevin Myrick

/ Kevin Myrick

Top: Com­mis­sion­ers Jor­dan Hub­bard and Matt Foster traded places on Mon­day, Jan­uary 14 as one gave up the chair’s gavel, and the other took it over. Left: Michael Hooper was named this year’s Bobby Alexan­der Pub­lic Works Award win­ner for the City of Cedar­town.Cen­ter: Of­fi­cer Tyler Ea­son won the Ray Mer­ritt Pub­lic Safety Award. Right: Aimee Mad­den, the City’s Di­rec­tor of Tourism and Eco­nomic Development, won the Emily Shaw Ad­min­is­tra­tion Award for 2019.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.