The State - - Sports -

More awards:

AP player of the year Kyler Mur­ray added the Davey O’Brien Award as the na­tion’s top quar­ter­back at ESPN’s Col­lege Foot­ball Awards show in At­lanta. But right be­fore the show started, it was an­nounced that Alabama quar­ter­back Tua Tago­v­ailoa won the Wal­ter Camp Player of the Year Award, and he later won the Maxwell, giv­ing him a 2-1 edge over Mur­ray in POY awards.

The last five win­ners of the Wal­ter Camp have gone on to win the Heis­man, but only five Heis­man win­ners have failed to win AP Player of the Year since the award started in 1998.

Ge­or­gia cor­ner­back Dean­dre Baker is the first Bull­dogs’ player to win the Thorpe Award as the top de­fen­sive back.

Wis­con­sin’s Jonathan Tay­lor be­came the fourth Badgers player to win the Doak Walker award as the top run­ning back.

Syra­cuse fresh­man An­dre Szmyt wins the Lou Groza as top kicker.

Alabama’s Jerry Jeudy won the Bilet­nikoff Award as the na­tion’s top wide re­ceiver.

Notre Dame coach Brian Kelly is the Home De­pot coach of the year.

LSU’s Devin White won the Butkus Award as the na­tion’s top line­backer.

Iowa’s T.J. Hock­en­son won the John Mackey Award as the na­tion’s top tight end.

Ken­tucky line­backer Josh Allen won the Chuck Bed­narik Award as the na­tion’s top de­fen­sive player.

Alabama de­fen­sive tackle Quin­nen Wil­liams won the Out­land Tro­phy as the na­tion’s best in­te­rior line­man.

Texas A&M’s Braden Mann won the Ray Guy Award as the na­tion’s best punter.

The Dis­ney Spirit Award went to Pur­due fan Tyler Trent, a 19-year-old stu­dent who is bat­tling can­cer.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.