NAACP honors Free­dom Fund awardees

Times-Record - - FRONT PAGE - Fol­low me on Twit­ter @ con­nie_s­tar­dem.

PRE­STON — The Caro­line County Branch of NAACP held its an­nual Free­dom Fund Awards Lun­cheon on Saturday, Nov. 17, at the Pre­ston Fire Hall.

The Rev. Dr. John G. Moore Sr., di­rec­tor of phi­lan­thropy and en­gage­ment for the United Way of Delaware, gave the keynote ad­dress. He stressed the value of each per­son ex­er­cis­ing the con­sti­tu­tional rights and law­ful ac­tions to help en­sure equal­ity for all, and the elim­i­na­tion of racial ha­tred and dis­crim­i­na­tion wher­ever they ex­ist.

Noted for his ex­cep­tional or­a­to­rial skills in re-en­act­ing speeches of the late Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Moore con­cluded his mes­sage on a high note as he ren­dered ex­cerpts from one of King’s speeches.

Spe­cial recog­ni­tion was given to six award hon­orees. Branch Pres­i­dent Berl L. Lovelace Sr. and Branch Ex­ec­u­tive Com­mit­tee mem­ber Dr. Wil­lie G. Woods pre­sented the awards.

The Youth Achieve­ment Award was pre­sented to Mar­cus E. Greene; the Life­time Achieve­ment Award to Janet Foun­tain; the Busi­ness Achieve­ment Award to Cars-R-Us (ac­cepted by Tracey Dunn for the own­ers Trevor Ni­chols and Ver­non Wil­son); the FaithBased Or­ga­ni­za­tion Award to Union Bethel A.M.E. Church, Den­ton, (ac­cepted by the Rev. Pearl Geter, pas­tor); the Com­mu­nity Or­ga­ni­za­tion Award to the Ladies of Nia (ac­cepted by Mal­ica Dun­nock, Donya Gra­ham and Lan­dra Bur­ton); and the Pres­i­dent’s Award to Norma Robin­son.

Michele Way­man served as mis­tress of cer­e­monies. Truly Blessed Min­istry, along with soloist Al­freda Den­nis Bowyer and pi­anist James Coursey, pro­vided the mu­sic.

The in­vo­ca­tion, ta­ble bless­ing and bene­dic­tion were pro­vided by Elder San­dra Moore, pas­tor of Soul Sav­ing Min­istry in Ridgely. Lunch was pro­vided by He­len’s Cater­ing of Cen­tre­ville.

At­ten­dees in­cluded a cross-sec­tion of county res­i­dents; clergy; elected govern­ment of­fi­cials; ex­ec­u­tives of the ju­di­cial, law en­force­ment, print me­dia, and pub­lic li­brary sys­tems; as well as NAACP branch pres­i­dents and rep­re­sen­ta­tives from Wi­comico, Dorch­ester, Tal­bot and Queen Anne’s coun­ties.


Caro­line County NAACP 2018 Free­dom Fund hon­orees and pro­gram par­tic­i­pants are, from left, Ladies of Nia mem­bers Donya Gra­ham, Lan­dra Bur­ton and Mal­ica Dun­nock; Branch Pres­i­dent Berl L. Lovelace; keynote speaker, the Rev. Dr. John G. Moore; Can­dance Moore; Janet Foun­tain; the Rev. Pearl Geter; Mar­cus Greene; Norma Robin­son; Tracey Dunn, rep­re­sent­ing Ver­non Wil­son and Trevor Ni­chols; and Michele Way­man.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.