Ok­la­homa’s Mur­ray is AP’s player of the year

Tri-City Herald - - Scoreboard -

Kyler Mur­ray is The As­so­ci­ated Press Player of the Year, the sec­ond straight Ok­la­homa quar­ter­back and fifth over­all to win the award since it was es­tab­lished in 1998. Mur­ray beat out Alabama quar­ter­back Tua Tago­v­ailoa on 56 bal­lots sub­mit­ted by AP col­lege foot­ball poll vot­ers and an­nounced Thurs­day. Ohio State quar­ter­back Dwayne Hask­ins Jr. was third.


More awards: Kyler Mur­ray added the Davey O’Brien Award as the na­tion’s top quar­ter­back, but Alabama quar­ter­back Tua Tago­v­ailoa won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award and the Maxwell.

The past five win­ners of the Walter Camp have gone on to win the Heis­man.

● Ge­or­gia cor­ner­back Dean­dre Baker is the first Bull­dogs’ player to win the Thorpe Award as the top de­fen­sive back.

● Wis­con­sin’s Jonathan Taylor be­came the fourth Badgers player to win the Doak Walker award as the top run­ning back.

● Syra­cuse fresh­man An­dre Szmyt won the Lou Groza as top kicker.

● Alabama’s Jerry Jeudy won the Bilet­nikoff Award as the na­tion’s top wide re­ceiver.

● Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly is the coach of the year.

● LSU’s Devin White won the Butkus Award as the top line­backer.

● Iowa’s T.J. Hock­en­son won the John Mackey Award as the top tight end.

● Ken­tucky line­backer Josh Allen won the Chuck Bed­narik Award as the top de­fen­sive player.

● Alabama de­fen­sive tackle Quin­nen Wil­liams won the Out­land Tro­phy as the best in­te­rior line­man.

● Texas A&M’s Braden Mann won the Ray Guy Award as the best punter.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.