NASCAR Hall nominees announced

- — Nate Ryan

The list of nominees for the fourth class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame includes the first minority and first woman eligible for induction in the stock car shrine. Wendell Scott, who is the only black driver to win a race in NASCAR’S premier series (in Jacksonvil­le on Dec. 1, 1963), and Anne Bledsoe France, NASCAR’S first treasurer and secretary and the wife of founder Bill France, are among five new candidates for the 2013 class. Legendary engine builder Ray Fox, former R.J. Reynolds executive Ralph Seagraves and 1989 champion Rusty Wallace also were added to the list of 25 nominees, which also includes driving greats Fireball Roberts, Curtis Turner and Joe Weatherly. A class of five will be selected May 23 by a panel of industry leaders, former competitor­s and news media.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States