Woonsocket Call

Local students chosen for civic leadership awards


PROVIDENCE – Secretary of State Nellie M. Gorbea has honored local high school students with the 2016 Rhode Island Civic Leadership Award. The award is given annually at a State House Ceremony to high school students who have made outstandin­g contributi­ons to their schools and communitie­s over the past year.

This year’s local honorees included:

• Daniel Comastra, Cumberland High School

• Alexandria Evers, Cumberland High School

• Alejandro Perez, Rocky Hill School

• Kyle Peterson, North Smithfield HS

• Anthony DeChristof­aro, Beacon Charter High School for the Arts

• Katyanna Colburn, Beacon Charter High School for the Arts

• Jamie Coulombe, Woonsocket Area Career and Technical Center

• Luis Andrade, Woonsocket Area Career and Technical Center

• Khady Ndongo, Woonsocket High School

• Lucas Rodriguez, Woonsocket High School

“Each year, I have the privilege of presenting the Rhode Island Civic Leadership to rising stars from all over the state,” Secretary Gorbea said. “These students have demonstrat­ed remarkable leadership skills and a desire to get involved and give back to their communitie­s. It is this sort of selfless dedication towards others that is critical to our success as a state.”

High Schools from around Rhode Island nominated one male and one female student, who best meet the ideals of the award, including public service, leadership ability and academic achievemen­t. Over 100 students were honored for their work.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States