Teacher of the Year nom­i­nees an­nounced

Yuma Sun - - FRONT PAGE - From staFF reports

The 30th an­nual Yuma County Teacher of the Year honor will be be­stowed on April 25 this year.

This year, 143 teach­ers in preK-12 school dis­tricts across Yuma County were nom­i­nated for the award.

“The an­nual Yuma County Teacher of the Year pro­vides our com­mu­nity with a tremen­dous op­por­tu­nity to rec­og­nize and cel­e­brate the out­stand­ing job our teach­ers do to help our stu­dents de­velop the skills, abil­i­ties and at­ti­tudes to be­come suc­cess­ful and con­tribut­ing mem­bers of our com­mu­nity,” said Crane Schools Su­per­in­ten­dent Robert Klee.

Cho­sen by their col­leagues, teach­ers are nom­i­nated in six cat­e­gories in­clud­ing first year, pri­mary, in­ter­me­di­ate, K-6 spe­cial area, ju­nior high/mid­dle school, and high school. All nom­i­nees were hon­ored at a kick­off din­ner at Ari­zona West­ern Col­lege.

Yuma Ro­tar­i­ans have in­ter­viewed all se­lected teach­ers, and nar­row down the list to a smaller group of semi­fi­nal­ists. Semi­fi­nal­ists are ex­pected to be an­nounced at the end of March. There are no semi­fi­nal­ists in the first-year teacher cat­e­gory; there is only a winner who will be an­nounced at the up­com­ing Yuma County Teacher of the Year ban­quet.

Those cho­sen as semi­fi­nal­ists sub­mit a short es­say con­tain­ing a brief his­tory of their back­ground in ed­u­ca­tion, their phi­los­o­phy of ed­u­ca­tion, their view of the teacher’s role in so­ci­ety and a 10-minute video tape of them teach­ing in the class­room. They are also called back for a se­cond in­ter­view to nar­row down to a group of three fi­nal­ists in each cat­e­gory.

The Teacher of the Year ban­quet is April 25 at the Yuma Civic and Con­ven­tion Cen­ter. Dur­ing the ban­quet, win­ners in each cat­e­gory will be an­nounced as well as the Out­stand­ing First-Year Teacher and the over­all 2016 Teacher of the Year. Hall of Fame mem­bers will also be rec­og­nized at the event, which is spon­sored by the Ro­tary Clubs of Yuma and the Ed­u­ca­tion Foun­da­tion of Yuma County.


Sil­via Arel­lano, Yuma HS Joe Daily, Gila Ridge HS Ger­ardo Huerta, San Luis HS Betsy Ja­cob­son, San Luis HS Mor­gan La­guna, Gila Ridge HS Tri­cia Long, Ci­bola HS Patricia Love­less, Ci­bola HS Jennifer A. Miller, Kofa HS Nicola Olsen, Kofa HS Carrie Stadler, Vista Al­ter­na­tive HS Bar­bara Verkaik, An­te­lope High School Brenda Wright, Yuma HS


Se­lene Arre­dondo, South­west JHS Sarah Carey, Ron Wat­son MS Eva Cer­vantes, Cen­ten­nial MS Bibi Frazine, Crane MS Ja­han Gen­try-Thrower, Gila Vista JHS

Sa­muel Guer­rero, Cas­tle Dome MS Jes­sica Martinez, Somer­ton MS Shelby Nash, Woodard JHS Denise Pa­len­cia, San Luis MS Aja Pic­cir­illo, Fourth Av­enue JHS


Claudia Al­varez, Rio Colorado El­e­men­tary

Elena Ar­men­dariz, McGraw El­e­men­tary

Amy Bidne de Bara­hona, Rolle El­e­men­tary

Jes­sica Casey, Gowan Science Academy

Deb­o­rah Childs, Val­ley Hori­zon El­e­men­tary Ali­cia Cooke, Pue­blo El­e­men­tary Bethaney Ed­wards, Sun­rise El­e­men­tary

Eloisa Flo­res, Roo­sevelt El­e­men­tary Norma Gar­cia, San Luis MS Nelinda “Nel­lie” Guer­rero, Palm­croft El­e­men­tary

Stephanie He­be­brand, Desert Mesa El­e­men­tary

Maricela Her­nan­dez, Ran­cho Viejo El­e­men­tary

Rachelle Hol­loway, Ron­ald Rea­gan El­e­men­tary

John Labs, Ce­sar Chavez El­e­men­tary

Elizabeth Molina, Desert Sonora El­e­men­tary

Zachary Mor­ris, Mesquite El­e­men­tary

Dina Munoz, Orange Grove El­e­men­tary

Christo­pher Ochoa, Alice Byrne El­e­men­tary

Ann Ogram, Gary Knox El­e­men­tary

Wil­liam (Bill) Peters, Pe­can Grove El­e­men­tary

Mike Rodgers, HL Su­verkrup El­e­men­tary

Laura Rodriguez, O. C. Johnson El­e­men­tary

Alma Ruano, Desert View El­e­men­tary

Kitsi Tams, Tierra del Sol El­e­men­tary

Gabriela Wil­liams, Valle del En­canto El­e­men­tary


Xo­chitl Ba­tiz, Desert Sonora El­e­men­tary

JoAnn Bielke, Amer­iS­chools Academy North

Jennifer Blake, Gary Knox El­e­men­tary Sarah Bo­era, Sun­rise El­e­men­tary Yo­nia Burr, Mo­hawk Val­ley Nidia Chaira-Sanchez, Orange Grove El­e­men­tary

Gen­nevie Deloney, Palm­croft El­e­men­tary

Jes­sica Es­calante, Tierra Del Sol El­e­men­tary

Car­lye Fer­nan­dez-Or­tiz, Gowan Science Academy

Adri­ana Figueroa, Rio Colorado El­e­men­tary

Elizabeth Figueroa, Valle del En­canto El­e­men­tary

Anna Gar­cia, Pe­can Grove El­e­men­tary

Bri Har­mon, HL Su­verkrup El­e­men­tary

Son­dra Hieber, Val­ley Hori­zon El­e­men­tary Kathie Ji­rak, Roo­sevelt El­e­men­tary Avis Lane, Pue­blo El­e­men­tary Kristina McCormick, McGraw El­e­men­tary Evonne Newell, Rolle El­e­men­tary An­to­nia Ni­chols, Gads­den El­e­men­tary

Aracely Nunez, Ed Pas­tor El­e­men­tary Edith Pescina, Ari­zona Desert Kathryn “Lo­gan” Pip­pin, Sal­ida del Sol El­e­men­tary

Claudia Robles, Har­vest Prep San Luis

Ruby­cell Rodriguez, Ce­sar Chavez El­e­men­tary

Alaina San­ders, O. C. Johnson El­e­men­tary

Allyson Seale, Ron­ald Rea­gan El­e­men­tary

Jes­sica Silva, Desert View El­e­men­tary Lacy Stephens, Price El­e­men­tary Je­susita Tor­res, Desert Mesa El­e­men­tary Alba Tu­dor, Mesquite El­e­men­tary Molly Valen­zuela, Alice Byrne El­e­men­tary

Kristin Wieck­owski, Har­vest Prep


Ash­ley Aitken, Yuma High School Claudia Al­varez-On­tiveros, Sal­ida del Sol El­e­men­tary

Katie Bur­rell, HL Su­verkrup El­e­men­tary Keith Cor­nell, Somer­ton MS Kayla Cox, Cas­tle Dome MS Daniel Cun­ning­ham, Gila Vista JHS

Ruby Es­calante, Ci­bola High School

Wendy Es­pinoza, Ran­cho Viejo El­e­men­tary

Aaron Fer­ris, An­te­lope High School Lau­ren Hen­nig, Ron Wat­son MS Daniel Her­gen­rader, Cen­ten­nial MS Ros­alva Leon, San Luis HS Lisa Lundin, Gary Knox El­e­men­tary

McKen­zie May, Sun­rise El­e­men­tary

Krystina Men­doza, Val­ley Hori­zon El­e­men­tary Erin Miller, Mesquite El­e­men­tary Mor­gan Moeller, Ron­ald Rea­gan El­e­men­tary Diego Moya, Vista High School Christie Nicholson, Kofa HS Tri­cia Sev­ers, Gila Ridge HS Alma So­lis, Roo­sevelt El­e­men­tary Casey Stock Far­rell, Alice Byrne El­e­men­tary

Bryan Yahna, Gowan Science Academy

Clar­isa Zaragoza, Tierra del Sol El­e­men­tary


Danielle Allen, Mesquite El­e­men­tary Karen Bagby, Rolle El­e­men­tary Jan Boyer, Ron­ald Rea­gan El­e­men­tary

Mal­lika Brown, Val­ley Hori­zon El­e­men­tary

Erica Carl­son, Gary Knox El­e­men­tary

David Cas­tro, Ed Pas­tor El­e­men­tary

M. Elaine Con­way, McGraw El­e­men­tary

Jose Do­rame, Roo­sevelt El­e­men­tary

An­abel Flo­res, Tierra del Sol El­e­men­tary

Jacqueline Gonzalez, Palm­croft El­e­men­tary

Ana Sylvia Heras, Ran­cho Viejo El­e­men­tary

Ka­t­rina Her­rera, Rio Colorado El­e­men­tary

Cather­ine King, Gads­den El­e­men­tary Edith Lucero, Otondo El­e­men­tary Car­men Marceau, Pe­can Grove El­e­men­tary

Kris­ten May­nard, Desert Mesa El­e­men­tary

Johna Meek, HL Su­verkrup El­e­men­tary

Adela Mon­teon, Desert Sonora El­e­men­tary Lidia Pizano, San Luis MS Julie Quinn, Alice Byrne El­e­men­tary TJ Raines, Pue­blo El­e­men­tary Sarai Robles, Ce­sar Chavez El­e­men­tary

Elisa Rouse, Orange Grove El­e­men­tary

Luz Ru­bio, Valle del En­canto El­e­men­tary Diana Salazar, Sun­rise El­e­men­tary Earla Stahl, Sal­ida del Sol El­e­men­tary

Sil­via Vega, San Luis Preschool

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.