NSSA board dis­solved

The Herald (Zimbabwe) - - National News - Abi­gail Ma­wonde Her­ald Cor­re­spon­dent

GOVERN­MENT has, with im­me­di­ate ef­fect, dis­missed the Na­tional So­cial Se­cu­rity Author­ity (NSSA) board af­ter its ten­ure lapsed in June.

Pub­lic Ser­vice, Labour and So­cial Wel­fare Min­is­ter Dr Sekai Nzenza con­firmed the de­vel­op­ment in a state­ment yes­ter­day.

“The Min­istry of Pub­lic Ser­vice, Labour and So­cial Wel­fare has dis­solved the NSSA board of direc­tors with im­me­di­ate ef­fect, a board that had served its statu­tory three-year ten­ure end­ing 30 June 2018,” she said.

“The ten­ure of the board had been ex­tended to date, pend­ing ap­point­ment of a new board.”

Min­is­ter Nzenza said NSSA now re­quired a new board.

“In line with His Ex­cel­lency the Pres­i­dent’s 2030 vi­sion for an up­per mid­dle econ­omy, the Min­istry of Pub­lic Ser­vice, Labour and So­cial Wel­fare is ex­pected to work closely with NSSA to en­sure rapid growth in the value and en­hanced ben­e­fits to the sub­scrib­ing pen­sion­ers,” she said.

“In that re­spect, NSSA now needs a new board that will work to­wards the growth and achieve­ment of the new man­date within the given time­frames.

“Af­ter fol­low­ing due pro­cesses, a new board will be an­nounced to en­sure con­tin­u­ous im­ple­men­ta­tion to the NSSA Act [Chap­ter 17:04]. May I take this op­por­tu­nity to thank the out­go­ing board for the work that they ren­dered to NSSA dur­ing their ten­ure.”

Mrs Daphne To­mana was the act­ing NSSA board chair fol­low­ing the sack­ing of Mr Robin Vela in March this year.

Mr Hash­mon Mate­mera, Mr Si­ja­bil­iso Biyam, Ms Nester Muk­wena, Mr Eria Phiri, Ms Jemima Mateko and Mr Richard Gundai were the other board mem­bers.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Zimbabwe

© PressReader. All rights reserved.