Changing your run­levels

Linux Format - - ESCAPE WINDOWS -

The de­fault run­level is spec­i­fied in the file /etc/init­tab , and the line id:5:init­de­fault: says that this sys­tem boots to run­level 5 by de­faults. That can be changed by edit­ing the file or by adding the run­level to the list of ker­nel op­tions when boot­ing.

If you some­times want a desk­top and some­times not, you could have sep­a­rate boot­loader menu en­tries to en­able you to choose be­tween them. You can change run­levels af­ter the com­puter has booted with the telinit com­mand. If you booted to a text con­sole and now want a desk­top, you would run, as root $ telinit 5 Sys­temd doesn’t have run­levels, and its equiv­a­lents are tar­gets: multi-user.tar­get is the equiv­a­lent of run­level 3 while graph­i­cal.tar­get matches 5. The equiv­a­lent of the above telinit com­mand to switch from text to graph­i­cal is $ sys­tem­ctl iso­late graph­i­cal.tar­get The de­fault tar­get is set like this $ sys­tem­ctl set-de­fault graph­i­cal.tar­get and you can spec­ify a dif­fer­ent tar­get on the boot­loader ker­nel line with sys­temd. unit=multi­user.tar­get .

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.