Pro­tect and re­store your im­por­tant work

Mac soft­ware Au­tosav­ing and back­ups make it less likely you’ll lose your work

Mac Format - - CONTENTS - Ian Even­den

File ver­sion­ing is a fea­ture of macOS that en­ables apps to save a his­tory of changes to a doc­u­ment with­out clut­ter­ing your stor­age with mul­ti­ple copies of files.

Ap­ple calls this Ver­sions. The fea­ture has a coun­ter­part called Auto Save, which acts as an ad­di­tional safety net. To­gether, these fea­tures make it less likely that you’ll lose work by sav­ing over it or be­cause an app crashes.

Sup­port for Ver­sions and Auto Save is far from uni­ver­sal, though. Ap­ple’s doc­u­ment cre­ation apps – Pages, Num­bers and Key­note – sup­port it, while Mi­crosoft apps have their own im­ple­men­ta­tion of it. Check whether an app has a Re­vert To sub­menu in the File menu.

When you choose File > Save, your app saves the changes you’ve made since the last ver­sion was cre­ated – au­to­mat­i­cally or man­u­ally – as part of a much longer his­tory.

Com­pat­i­ble apps au­to­mat­i­cally save new ver­sions to a doc­u­ment’s his­tory as you work. This hap­pens at least once ev­ery hour, and when you open, du­pli­cate, lock, re­name or re­vert a file to an ear­lier ver­sion. A ver­sion is also cre­ated when you save man­u­ally – do that when you reach a mile­stone in your work.

Ver­sions are saved as part of your file, so even if you quit the app, you’ll still be able to ac­cess them when you re­open it. Note, though, that if you move files between your Mac and an­other op­er­at­ing sys­tem, such as Win­dows or Linux, you won’t be able to ac­cess the ver­sions there – it’s a macOS-only thing.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.