Tire­less work hon­oured

The Weekly Advertiser Horsham - - News -

Tire­less vol­un­teer and refugee ad­vo­cate John Milling­ton is Hind­marsh Shire Coun­cil’s 2017 Cit­i­zen of the Year.

Mr Milling­ton, of Nhill, re­ceived his Aus­tralia Day award from Mayor De­bra Nel­son.

Cr Nel­son also an­nounced Jeparit’s Char­lotte Kube as Young Cit­i­zen of the Year and Dim­boola Food Fes­ti­val as Com­mu­nity Event of the Year.

Aus­tralia Day started early in Hind­marsh Shire, with a break­fast bar­be­cue at Rain­bow. Cer­e­monies fol­lowed at Rain­bow, Jeparit, Dim­boola and Nhill.

Hind­marsh’s Aus­tralia Day Am­bas­sador Aris Im­bardelli gave an in­ter­ac­tive ad­dress at each event. The high­light of each cer­e­mony was the pre­sen­ta­tion of awards.

Rain­bow Lions Club awarded a lo­cal cit­i­zen­ship award, Nhill Lions Club a lo­cal young cit­i­zen­ship award and Dim­boola Town Com­mit­tee pre­sented an award to a suc­cess­ful com­mu­nity event. 2017 Aus­tralia Day Award win­ners were: Cit­i­zen of the Year – John Milling­ton OAM, Nhill. John is a tire­less vol­un­teer, al­ways will­ing to help de­velop ini­tia­tives for the com­mu­nity.

He has been the driver of the suc­cess­ful es­tab­lish­ment of a Karen com­mu­nity at Nhill and has as­sisted his wife Mar­garet in lob­by­ing the gov­ern­ment to es­tab­lish ‘real-time’ mon­i­tor­ing of pre­scrip­tion medicines, along with be­ing in­volved in the Wim­mera Road Trauma Com­mit­tee.

In 2012, John was awarded a Medal of the Or­der of Aus­tralia, OAM, for ser­vice to avi­cul­ture and to the com­mu­nity of Nhill. Young Cit­i­zen of the Year – Char­lotte Kube, Jeparit. Char­lotte is a 16-year-old stu­dent and is well-known for her ex­cep­tional cello play­ing, in par­tic­u­lar play­ing at the Ballarat Sym­phony Orches­tra’s 30th an­niver­sary. Char­lotte was awarded win­ner of the News Boy’s Foun­da­tion Re­gional Award 2015, along with dux of years seven, eight, nine and 10 at Nhill Col­lege, year 7-10 Learn­ing Area Award in 2015, Jacinda Faith Twigg Ris­ing Star Schol­ar­ship and Luv-a-duck High Achiever Award 2015. She re­ceived nu­mer­ous awards from Nhill Col­lege in 2016. Char­lotte also re­ceived a Lions Club of Nhill Schol­ar­ship, Aus­tralian De­fence Force Long Tan Lead­er­ship and Team­work Schol­ar­ship and was also win­ner of the Years 7 to 10 Science Do­main Award. Com­mu­nity event – Dim­boola Food Fes­ti­val. In Au­gust 2016, Dim­boola Food Fes­ti­val brought many vis­i­tors to the town for a week­end of fes­tiv­i­ties. The event pro­moted Dim­boola and show­cased the shire, boost­ing tourism.

Yar­ri­ambi­ack awards

Ru­ral North­west Health Board chair­man and former War­rackn­abeal prin­ci­pal Leo Casey is Yar­ri­ambi­ack Shire Coun­cil’s Cit­i­zen of the Year.

Mr Casey has an ex­ten­sive his­tory of con­tribut­ing to the com­mu­ni­ties he has been in­volved in, largely on a vol­un­tary ba­sis.

He has played ma­jor roles in War­rackn­abeal Foot­ball-net­ball Club, War­rackn­abeal Com­mu­nity Cen­tre, St Mary’s Catholic Par­ish and Ro­tary Club of War­rackn­abeal, among oth­ers.

Mur­toa’s Thomas Mcgrath won the shire’s young cit­i­zen award on Aus­tralia Day for his work with Yar­ri­ambi­ack’s Youth Ac­tion Coun­cil and the Young Farm­ers Min­is­te­rial Ad­vi­sory Coun­cil.

The WAG Christ­mas Fes­ti­val-car­ols by Can­dle­light won the Com­mu­nity Event of the Year ac­co­lade.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.