A shocker for Drouin bowlers

Warragul & Drouin Gazette - - WGBD -

Drouin Bowl­ing Club had a shocker on Satur­day, with only divi­sion three win­ning well over Trafal­gar.

Divi­sion one: Drouin 0/77 lost to Trafal­gar 20/120.

Bob Cole, Les Firth, Steve Barr and Mick Flem­ing (skip) lost to K. Cap­per’s team 17/30. Ron Brodie, Mau­reen Leighton, Den­nis Throup and John Leighton (skip) lost to S. Jones’ team 22/29. David McIl­fa­trick, Chris Stub­bings, Sh­eryl Atkin­son and Mark Atkin­son (skip) lost to S. Daw­son’s team 18/26. John Bul­mer, Greg McLean, Ian McCartney and Adam Proc­tor (skip) lost to T. Lodge’s team 20/24.

Divi­sion three: Drouin 20/121 de­feated Trafal­gar 0/67.

An­drew Blaby, Mal An­der­son, Pauline Ap­p­le­yard and Gra­ham Wool­s­ten­croft (skip) de­feated Norm Hinch­cliffe’s team 31/16. Rus­sell Daw­son, Matt Ec­cles, Tim An­der­son and Noel Ruben­stein (skip) de­feated B. Giles’s team 32/13 to be king rink. Terry McFadzean, Mar­garet Rhodes, Phil Jarred and David Tayles (skip) de­feated G. Ward’s team 38/19. Sa­man­tha Atkin­son, Gra­ham Cocks, Peter Wood and Col Jef­frey (skip) de­feated M. Clymo’s team 20/19.

Divi­sion four: Drouin 0/71 lost to Thor­p­dale 20/111.

Gary Watts, Tom Lawler, Ray Wat­son and Dale Hedrick (skip) lost to D. Gunn’s team 15/24. Ian Haughton, Richard Joyner, Merv Ap­p­le­yard and Neil Bullen (skip) lost to S. Jen­nings’ team 18/29. Graeme God­kin, Les Gouge, Frank Basso and Peter Hone (skip) lost to R. Kennedy’s team 19/27. Mary Firth, Lloyd Smith, Kevin Pot­ter and Bill Ea­cott (skip) lost to B. Pow­ell’s team 19/31.

Fours tour­na­ment

Drouin held its an­nual fours tour­na­ment on Sun­day with both greens all but filled as 22 teams took part.

The win­ners were John Taborslz, Paris Hil­ton, Sarah Ashby and Dave Ashby - Dave be­ing the only three game win­ner. Well done.

A big thank you to the women who catered for this event.

Satur­day is the last home and away game. Divi­sion one is at home to War­ragul, divi­sion three go to Boolarra and divi­sion four are away at Mor­well.


Drouin recorded a draw and two losses in its three di­vi­sions last Tues­day.

Divi­sion one: Drouin 9/65 drew Mor­well 7/65.

Mar­garet Rat­cliffe (skip), Pauline Ap­p­le­yard, Gwen Price and Col Jef­frey won 23/19. Mau­reen Leighton (skip), Sh­eryl Atkin­son, Mar­garet Rhodes and Les Firth won 22/20. Denise Hamil­ton (skip), Lyn Jef­frey, Lyn Rip­pon and Mary Firth lost 20/26.

Divi­sion two: Drouin 0/60 lost to Yal­lourn 16/87.

Mar­garet Schofield (skip), Jan John­son, Tr­ish Cole and Jenny Cocks lost 25/27. Irene Daw­son (skip), Dini Hone, Chris At­trill and Lor­raine Fox lost 18/36. Myra Bethune (skip), Jenny Woodard, Maria Wans and He­len Gaff lost 17/24.

Divi­sion four: Drouin 2/35 lost to Yal­lourn 8/39.

Kath Dixon (skip), Bar­bara Watts, Merv Ap­p­le­yard and Mau­reen Brunet won 18/17. Janet Caulfield (skip), Lor­raine Kin­rade, Gra­ham Cocks and Graeme God­kin lost 17/22.

The Queen Rink win­ners were Mar­garet Rat­cliffe’s team with four shots up.

Win­ners of Drouin Bowl­ing Club’s an­nual fours tour­na­ment on Sun­day are (from left) Paris Hil­ton, Dave Ashby, Sarah Ashby and John Taborslz.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.