Azer­bai­jan gets guest sta­tus in OECD De­vel­op­ment As­sis­tance Com­mit­tee

Azer News - - Na­tion - By Kamila Aliyeva

Azer­bai­jan has been granted the sta­tus of guest at the De­vel­op­ment As­sis­tance Com­mit­tee of the Or­ga­ni­za­tion for Eco­nomic Co­op­er­a­tion and De­vel­op­ment (OECD).

The For­eign Min­istry re­ported that this be­come pos­si­ble thanks to sys­tem­atic ef­forts made by Azer­bai­jan In­ter­na­tional De­vel­op­ment Agency (AID A) since 2015. The co­op­er­a­tion with the OECD De­vel­op­ment As­sis­tance Com­mit­tee, which pro­motes the eco­nomic and so­cial well-be­ing of peo­ple around the world and brings to­gether donor coun­tries, is of great im­por­tance to Azer­bai­jan, which has turned into a new donor coun­try, the min­istry re­ported.

Azer­bai­jan’s par­tic­i­pa­tion in the meet­ings of this in­ter­na­tional or­ga­ni­za­tion will serve to fur­ther in­crease the coun­try's au­thor­ity in the world arena, en­hance the ef­fec­tive­ness of ac­tiv­i­ties as a donor coun­try, and form new part­ner­ship re­la­tions.

AIDA, es­tab­lished in Septem­ber 2011, is a re­spon­si­ble or­gan for pro­vi­sion of in­ter­na­tional hu­man­i­tar­ian and de­vel­op­ment as­sis­tance by Azer­bai­jan and co­or­di­nates ac­tiv­i­ties of rel­e­vant state agen­cies in this field.

Its an­nual bud­get is formed by rel­e­vant al­lo­ca­tions from the state bud­get. Its ac­tiv­i­ties are struc­tured in line and con­cur­rent with the for­eign pol­icy of Azer­bai­jan.

OECD is an in­ter­gov­ern­men­tal eco­nomic or­ga­ni­za­tion with 35 mem­ber coun­tries, founded in 1960 to stim­u­late eco­nomic progress and world trade.

It is a fo­rum of coun­tries de­scrib­ing them­selves as com­mit­ted to democ­racy and the mar­ket econ­omy, pro­vid­ing a plat­form to com­pare pol­icy ex­pe­ri­ences, seek­ing an­swers to com­mon prob­lems, iden­tify good prac­tices and co­or­di­nate do­mes­tic and in­ter­na­tional poli­cies of its mem­bers.

A list of the cur­rent Mem­ber coun­tries of the Or­ga­ni­za­tion in­cludes Aus­tralia, Aus­tria, Bel­gium, Canada, Chile, Czech Repub­lic, Den­mark, Es­to­nia, Fin­land, France, Ger­many, Greece, Hun­gary, Ice­land, Ire­land, Is­rael, Italy, Ja­pan, Ko­rea, Latvia, Lux­em­bourg, Mex­ico, Nether­lands, New Zealand, Nor­way, Poland, Por­tu­gal, Slo­vak Repub­lic, Slove­nia, Spain, Swe­den, Switzer­land, Turkey, United King­dom, United States.

Brazil, Bul­garia, China, Colom­bia, Costa Rica, In­dia, Latvia, Lithua­nia, Peru, Ro­ma­nia, Rus­sia, Kaza­khstan and South Africa have the sta­tus of guest in the Com­mit­tee.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Azerbaijan

© PressReader. All rights reserved.