New EU Pass­port Rules Are In Effect

Business Traveler (USA) - - UPFRONT -

Trav­el­ers whose pass­ports are about to ex­pire, take note: The Euro­pean Union has an­nounced new pass­port re­quire­ments for non-EU na­tion­als. The new rules be­gan in July re­quir­ing all cit­i­zens of coun­tries out­side the Schen­gen area to have a pass­port valid for at least 3 months af­ter de­par­ture date.

For ex­am­ple a US cit­i­zen whose planned re­turn date from Europe is Septem­ber 1 must have a pass­port valid at least through De­cem­ber 1. Trav­el­ers fail­ing to meet this re­quire­ment may be de­nied en­try.

The Schen­gen Borders Agree­ment in­cludes all Euro­pean Union coun­tries, ex­cept Bul­garia, Ire­land, Ro­ma­nia and the United King­dom. In ad­di­tion, Ice­land, Nor­way, Switzer­land and Liecht­en­stein are also mem­bers of the Schen­gen Borders Agree­ment but not of the EU.

Ac­cord­ing to the EU web site, the new pass­port rules went into effect on July 19 in Aus­tria, Bel­gium, Bul­garia, Czech Re­pub­lic, Cyprus, Es­to­nia, Fin­land, France, Ger­many, Greece, Hun­gary, Ice­land, Latvia, Lithua­nia, Lux­em­bourg, Malta, Nether­lands, Poland, Por­tu­gal, Slove­nia, Spain and Swe­den.

Den­mark, Italy, Nor­way, Ro­ma­nia and Switzer­land are ex­pected to im­ple­ment the pol­icy some­time this fall and thus far Croa­tia and Slo­vakia have not an­nounced an of­fi­cial start date. In ad­di­tion, since the pol­icy was in­sti­tuted at the height of the sum­mer tourist sea­son, coun­tries like France, Bel­gium and Swe­den are al­low­ing some flex­i­bil­ity in en­forc­ing the new rules.

For more in­for­ma­tion visit ec.europa. eu/dgs/home-af­fairs or the US State Depart­ment web site,

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.