Kirkpatrick rink headed to Tankard in Shau­navon

The Southwest Booster - - SPORTS -

Three Swift Cur­rent rinks took part in the 2014 SaskTel Men’s South­ern Cham­pi­onship at the Regina High­land Curl­ing Club last week.

On the line were five spots at the 2014 SaskTel Tankard in Shau­navon Jan­uary 29 – Fe­bru­ary 2.

Swift Cur­rent’s Max Kirkpatrick was able to se­cure one of the five avail­able spots in Shau­navon, over­com­ing a dev­as­tat­ing loss to qual­ify out the B Event.

The Kirkpatrick rink won their first game Thurs­day evening in an 8-6 win over White­wood’s Lyle Brown. They trailed 3-1 af­ter four ends but took the lead for good in the fifth when they scored four points.

Kirkpatrick moved to 20 Fri­day morn­ing with an 8-7 come­back win over Regina’s Jamie Sch­nei­der. The Swift Cur­rent rink trailed 7-4 be­fore scor­ing three in the ninth and then steal­ing one in the 10th end.

Kirkpatrick faced Regina’s Joel Jordi­son in the A Event semi-fi­nal and ad­vanced with a 7-5 win.

The Swift Cur­rent rink scored deuces in the fourth and sixth ends be­fore steal­ing one in the sev­enth on their way to the win.

Kirkpatrick took on Este­van’s Brent Gedak in an A Event fi­nal and led 9-7 head­ing into the fi­nal end, where Gedak stole the game with three points for a 10-9 win to se­cure the first spot at the Tankard.

The Kirkpatrick rink had lit­tle time to re­group but were still able to do so in a 10-5 win over Josh Heidt in eight ends to earn a trip to Shau­navon.

The Swift Cur­rent rink scored three in the fifth to take a 6-2 lead but Heidt re­sponded with three of his own the fol­low­ing end. Kirkpatrick slammed the door on the come­back bid with two in the sev­enth and a steal of two in the eighth for the 10-5 fi­nal.

Kirkpatrick was joined by lead Shawn Hiebert, sec­ond Jeff Cham­bers, and third Shawn Meachem.

Rod Quintin was joined by lead Clay­ton Wicks, sec­ond Mitch Minken, and third Dan Kennedy as they rep­re­sented the Swift Cur­rent Curl­ing Club.

Quintin lost his open­ing game Fri­day evening in a 64 de­feat at the hands of Regina’s Jamie Sch­nei­der.

Quintin bounced back with an 8-6 win over White­wood’s Lyle Brown to open the B Event. The game was tied 6-6 be­fore Quintin scored one in the ninth and then stole one in the 10th end.

Quintin was knocked out of the B Event Fri­day evening in an 8-3 loss to Ker­robert’s Josh Heidt in eight ends. He took on Regina’s Catlin Sch­nei­der to open the C Event and was elim­i­nated from the tour­na­ment in a 9-8 loss.

Quintin scored three in the fifth to tie the game 4-4 and then stole two in the sixth and sev­enth ends to take an 8-4 lead.

Sch­nei­der stormed back with three in the eighth, a steal of one in the ninth, and a steal of one in the 10th for the one-point win.

Swift Cur­rent’s Rea­gan Had­den was knocked out of the A Event with an 8-2 loss to Jordi­son on Thurs­day evening. He bounced back in the B Event with a 7-4 win over Regina’s Gord Bell, putting the game away with a sin­gle in the ninth and then a steal of one in the 10th end. Had­den was bounced from the B Event Satur­day morn­ing in a 7-6 loss to Sch­nei­der.

Had­den scored two in the eighth end to tie the game 6-6 but the ninth was blanked and Sch­nei­der scored a sin­gle in the 10th with the ham­mer to clinch the win.

Had­den was elim­i­nated from the tour­na­ment Satur­day af­ter­noon in a 7-6 loss to Regina’s Wil­liam Coutts. Coutts led 5-1 af­ter four ends and Had­den was never able to draw even de­spite scor­ing three in the fifth to make it a one-point game.

Had­den was joined by lead Ryan Neustaeter, sec­ond Neil An­der­son, third Ron Bai­ley, and coach Be­van Bai­ley.

The SaskTel Tankard will be­gin Wed­nes­day in Shau­navon and the win­ner will be de­clared on Sun­day af­ter­noon.

The first six spots in Shau­navon were pre­vi­ously claimed by Jeff Har­tung, Dar­rell McKee, Brock Virtue, Scott Bitz, Kevin Marsh, and Steven Lay­cock.

The South­ern slots were claimed by Gedak (Este­van), Kirkpatrick (Swift Cur­rent), Randy Bry­den (Regina Cal­lie), Joel Jordi­son (Regina High­land), and Heidt (Ker­robert).

The North­ern spots were earned by Terry Marte­niuk (York­ton), Scott Man­ners (North Bat­tle­ford), Bruce Ko­rte (Saskatoon Nu­tana), Mike Arm­strong (Saskatoon Nu­tana), and Dar­ren Camm (Saskatoon Suther­land).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.