South­west en­tries ap­pear at Pro­vin­cial Her­itage Fair

The Southwest Booster - - PINION -

Seven stu­dents from the South­west are cur­rently show­cas­ing their projects at the Pro­vin­cial Her­itage Fair.

Grade 6 stu­dents Colby Camp­bell, Sophia Curti, Kelsey Dyck, Ella La­puz, Heidi Spetz and Earl Ubon­gen have joined Grade 7 rep­re­sen­ta­tive Ruby Zum­mack at the Pro­vin­cial Her­itage Fair cur­rently be­ing hosted at Gov­ern­ment House in Regina.

The pro­vin­cial event fea­tures ex­hibits from 58 stu­dents that were se­lected dur­ing four re­gional her­itage fairs hosted across the prov­ince last month.

Swift Cur­rent’s Re­gional Her­itage Fair was held at the Swift Cur­rent Mu­seum on April 28, where a num­ber of award win­ning en­tries were se­lected.

Projects ad­vanc­ing to provin­cials were:

Colby Camp­bell (Gr. 6) - Koote­nai Brown; Sophia Curti (Gr. 6) - Laura Secord; Kelsey Dyck (Gr. 6) - The Group of Seven; Ella La­puz (Gr. 6) - The Great De­pres­sion; Heidi Spetz (Gr. 6) - The Webb Bus Crash; Earl Ubon­gen (Gr. 6) - Terry Fox; Ruby Zum­mack (Gr. 7) - The His­tory of Cana­dian Women’s Rights.

Se­lected for Canada’s His­tory So­ci­ety’s Young Cit­i­zens Pro­gram were:

De­laney Dyck (Gr. 6) - Swift Cur­rent; Coby Mccann (Gr. 8) Fa­mous Cana­dian Dis­cov­er­ies in Pa­le­on­tol­ogy; J.J. Zum­mack (Gr. 7) - The In­dian Act of 1876.

Award win­ning en­tries were also se­lected in the fol­low­ing cat­e­gories:

Arts, Sports & Leisure Award: Kelsey Dyck (Gr. 6) The Group of Seven.

Cit­i­zen­ship & Gov­er­nance Award: Ruby Zum­mack (Gr. 7) - The His­tory of Cana­dian Women’s Rights.

First Na­tions & Métis Her­itage Award: Jus­tice Macdon­ald (Gr. 6) - Res­i­den­tial Schools.

Ge­nealog­i­cal Her­itage Award: Cole Tan­gen (Gr. 6) World Wars.

Mil­i­tary Her­itage Award: Dy­lan La­casse (Gr. 6) - The Old Forts Trail.

Mul­ti­cul­tural Her­itage Award: Colby Camp­bell (Gr. 6) - Koote­nai Brown.

Nat­u­ral Her­itage Award: Brady Kohls (Gr. 6) - The Mys­tery of Oak Is­land.

Science & Tech­nol­ogy Award: Brody Ik­ert (Gr. 5) - Chris Had­field.

Archives Award: Sophia Curti (Gr. 6) - Laura Secord.

Digital Award: Hai­ley Lowe (Gr. 6) - The Bat­tle of Al­berta in the


In­no­va­tion Award: El­iz­a­beth Woods (Gr. 6) - Penny Olek­siak.

His­tor­i­cal Think­ing Award: Ella La­puz (Gr. 6) - The Great De­pres­sion.

Saskatchewan Her­itage Foun­da­tion Award: Marie Tsougri­a­nis (Gr. 6) - Cor­ner Gas.

Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame Sport Her­itage Award: Ava Geissler (Gr. 6) Hay­ley Wick­en­heiser.

150th An­niver­sary of Cana­dian Con­fed­er­a­tion Award: J.J. Zum­mack (Gr. 7) - The In­dian Act of 1876.

The stu­dents at­tend­ing a se­ries of events yes­ter­day, and there will be a pub­lic view­ing with the stu­dents at Gov­ern­ment House from 2:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. An Awards Cer­e­mony will be­gin fol­low­ing the pub­lic view­ing.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.