Hon­our­ing the the Fab Five

Win­ner of O’Leary’s vol­un­teers of the year is com­mit­tee that led Hockeyville cam­paign

The Guardian (Charlottetown) - - COMMUNITY - BY ERIC MCCARTHY

They are the “Fab Five” and now, as a unit, they are the win­ners of O’Leary’s Vol­un­teer of the Year.

The Fab Five — Della Sweet, Billy MacK­endrick, Dean Get­son, Tammy Rix and JoAnne Wal­lace — were pre­sented with the award dur­ing the Town of O’Leary Canada Day cel­e­bra­tion.

“These five peo­ple are now known, and al­ways will be known, as the Fab Five,” said O’Leary re­cre­ation di­rec­tor Jeff Ellsworth in read­ing the ci­ta­tion, which rec­og­nized their lead­er­ship in help­ing O’Leary win the na­tional ti­tle of Kraft Hockeyville 2017.

“The com­mu­nity spirit and pride it brought to every­one in­volved, near and far, was mind-blowing,” he said. “They put every­thing they had into mak­ing this dream come true for O’Leary, for the kids and for the com­mu­nity.”

Wal­lace, speak­ing on be­half of the com­mit­tee, stressed the Hockeyville prize was a re­sult of a broad ef­fort that ex­tended across the coun­try.

She promised a com­mu­nity fes­ti­val in cel­e­bra­tion of the ti­tle win prior to the Hockeyville NHL ex­hi­bi­tion game prize in Septem­ber. The five com­mit­tee mem­bers brought along the Kraft Hockeyville cup and passed it through the crowd for pic­ture-tak­ing mo­ments.

“It wasn’t just the win­ning of the Hockeyville Cup that was so in­spir­ing – it was also every­thing lead­ing up to it,” Ellsworth re­flected.

“There was so much com­mu­nity spirit and com­mu­nity pride it was contagious, and it all started with these five peo­ple who are not ro­bots, but they sure put in more work than one.”

Ro­bots was in ref­er­ence to vot­ers need­ing to con­firm they were not ro­bots each time they cast an on­line vote for Hockeyville.

Win­ning Hockeyville, it was noted, was one of O’Leary’s proud­est mo­ments to date.


The Fab Five, the com­mit­tee that spearheaded O’Leary’s drive to be­come Kraft Hockeyville, dis­play the in­di­vid­ual Town of O’Leary Vol­un­teer of the Year awards. From left are Dean Get­son, JoAnne Wal­lace, Tammy Rix, Della Sweet and Bill MacK­endrick.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.