The Hamilton Spectator - - SPORTING LIFE -

1922 U.S. Supreme Court rules or­ga­nized base­ball is a sport and not a busi­ness and not sub­ject to an­titrust laws. 1948 47th Men’s French Cham­pi­onships: Frank Parker beats Jaroslav Drobny (6-4, 7-5, 5-7, 8-6). 1948 47th Women’s French Cham­pi­onships: Nelly Landry beats Shirley Fry (6-2, 0-6, 6-0). 1954 53rd Men’s French Cham­pi­onships: Tony Trabert beats Art Larsen (6-4, 7-5, 6-1). 1954 53rd Women’s French Cham­pi­onships: Mau­reen Con­nolly beats Ginette Bu­caille (6-4, 6-1). 1965 Philadel­phia Phillies Dick Allen hits a 529’ home run out of Con­nie Mack Sta­dium. 1965 64th Men’s French Cham­pi­onships: Fred Stolle beats Tony Roche (3-6, 6-0, 6-2, 6-3). 1965 64th Women’s French Cham­pi­onships: Les­ley Turner Bowrey beats Mar­garet Smith (6-3, 6-4). 1968 12th Euro­pean Cup: Manchester United beats Ben­fica 4-1 at Lon­don. 1971 In­di­anapo­lis 500: Al Unser wins. 1977 In­di­anapo­lis 500: A.J. Foyt wins for a record 4th time. 1977 Janet Guthrie be­comes 1st woman to drive in Indy 500. 1980 Larry Bird beats out Magic John­son for NBA rookie of year. 1983 In­di­anapo­lis 500: Tom Sneva wins. 1984 Bos­ton Red Sox re­tires No. 9 (Ted Wil­liams) and No. 4 (Joe Cronin). 1985 Amputee Steve Fonyo com­pletes cross-Canada marathon at Vic­to­ria, B.C., after 14 months. 1985 29th Euro­pean Cup: Ju­ven­tus beats Liver­pool 1-0 at Brus­sels. 1990 Rickey Hen­der­son steals record 893rd base, break­ing Ty Cobb’s record. 1991 35th Euro­pean Cup: Red Star Bel­grade beats Mar­seille (0-0, 5-3 on penal­ties) at Bari. 1992 White Sox Tim Raines swipes his 700th ca­reer base. 1993 Texas Ranger Jose Canseco pitches 8th in­ning in 15-1 loss to the Bos­ton Red Sox. He gives up 3 runs on 2 hits and 3 walks and dam­ages his arm. 1993 NHL Clarence Campbell Con­fer­ence Fi­nal: Los An­ge­les Kings beat Toronto Maple Leafs, 4 games to 3. 1994 In­di­anapo­lis 500: Al Unser Jr. wins. 2001 U.S. Supreme Court rules that dis­abled golfer Casey Martin can use a cart to ride in tour­na­ments. 2005 In­di­anapo­lis 500: Dan Whel­don wins. 2010 Philadel­phia Phillies’ Roy Hal­la­day be­comes 20th pitcher to throw a per­fect game (1-0 vs. Florida). 2011 In­di­anapo­lis 500: Dan Whel­don wins.

Roy Hal­la­day, the for­mer Toronto Blue Jay and Philadel­phia Phillie who is one of only six pitch­ers to win the Cy Young in both the Amer­i­can and Na­tional Leagues, threw a per­fect game against Florida, seven years ago to­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.