Half of MPs re-elected, women MPs now 11

Financial Mirror (Cyprus) - - FRONT PAGE -

The newly elected 56mem­ber House of Rep­re­sen­ta­tives wel­comes three new po­lit­i­cal par­ties and 28 par­lia­men­tar­i­ans on Sun­day, with many par­ties los­ing ground as voter ab­sten­tion reached about 34%.

With par­ties also los­ing seats, some res­ig­na­tions were an­tic­i­pated, with the fate of So­cial­ist EDEK leader Mari­nos Si­zopou­los still un­clear, fol­low­ing party in­fight­ing prior to the elec­tions.

The new House has 11 fe­male MPs, more than the pre­vi­ous as­sem­bly, rep­re­sent­ing 19.6% of MPs, from 12.6% in the pre­vi­ous par­lia­ment.

The Ci­ti­zens’ Al­liance, the Sol­i­dar­ity Move­ment (Alilengii) and na­tion­al­ist ELAM are the par­ties that en­ter the par­lia­ment for the first time through the elec­toral process.

There are 24 MPs who were elected for the first time to the House, seven of whom are un­der 40 – Efthimios Di­plaros, Demetris Demetriou, An­nita Demetriou and Mariella Aris­tei­dou from the rul­ing Demo­cratic Rally (DISY) party, Anna The­ol­o­gou from the Ci­ti­zens’ Al­liance, Linos Pa­payan­nis and Chris­tos Chris­tou from ELAM.

Ac­cord­ing to the elec­tion out­come, many women topped their party pref­er­ence votes led by Irini Char­alam­bidou of AKEL and Stella Kyr­i­akides for DISY. In Li­mas­sol Eleni Theocharous for Sol­i­dar­ity, in Lar­naca An­nita Demetriou for DISY, in Fa­m­a­gusta Skevi Koutra Kouk­ouma for AKEL, and Anna The­ol­o­gou for Ci­ti­zens’ Al­liance and in Kyre­nia Eleni Mavrou for AKEL.

The new MPs are: in Ni­cosia Ste­fanos Ste­fanou for AKEL, Solonas Kasi­nis and Demetris Demetriou for DISY, Chris­tiana Ero­tokri­tou and Mari­nos Moushoutas for the Demo­cratic Party (DIKO), Costas Ef­s­tathiou for EDEK, Yior­gos Lil­likas for Ci­ti­zens’ Al­liance, Char­alam­bos Theopemp­tou for Greens – Ci­ti­zens’ Co­op­er­a­tion, and Chris­tos Chris­tou for ELAM.

In Li­mas­sol district the new MPs are: Eleni Stavrou for DISY, Ge­or­gios Ge­or­giou for AKEL, Panikos Leonidou for DIKO, Eleni Theocharous for Sol­i­dar­ity Move­ment, Pav­los My­lonas for Ci­ti­zens’ Al­liance and Mari­nos Si­zopou­los for EDEK.

In Fa­m­a­gusta district, the new MPs are: from DISY Gior­gos Karoul­las and Onoufrios Koulla, Ni­cos Ket­tiros from AKEL, Anna The­ol­o­gou from Ci­ti­zens’ Al­liance Michalis Gior­gal­las from Sol­i­dar­ity Move­ment, and Linos Pa­payian­nis from ELAM.

In Lar­naca the new MPs are: An­nita Demetriou from DISY, Evan­thia Savva from AKEL and Chris­tos Or­phanides from DIKO.

In Paphos district the new MPs are: Char­alam­bos Pit­toko­pi­tis from DIKO and Elias Myr­i­ant­hous from EDEK.

In Kyre­nia dis­trcit, they are Eleni Mavrou from AKEL and Mariella Aris­ti­dou from DISY.

New mem­bers of par­lia­ment are also the rep­re­sen­ta­tives of re­li­gious groups, Yian­nakis Mousas for the Ma­ronites and An­tonella Man­to­vani for the Latin com­mu­nity. The rep­re­sen­ta­tives of the Ar­me­nian com­mu­nity, Vartkes Mahdessian, was re-elected un­op­posed.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Cyprus

© PressReader. All rights reserved.