New PAC chair­man to­day

Fiji Sun - - Fiji To­day - Edited by Ne­mani De­laibatiki Feed­back: jy­otip@fi­

com­men­tary to some me­dia on is­sues yet to be de­cided by the com­mit­tee. Govern­ment mem­bers on PAC are: Mr Sud­hakar, Alex O’Con­nor and Abe Dean while Op­po­si­tion mem­bers are Mr Prasad and Aseri Radro­dro. The amend­ment reads: “The mem­bers may at any meet­ing of the stand­ing com­mit­tee by ma­jor­ity vote re­places a chair­per­son or a deputy chair­per­son and elect an­other mem­ber from amongst them­selves as a chair­per­son or a deputy chair­per­son, pro­vided, how­ever, that a chair­per­son/deputy chair per­son can only be re­placed un­der this clause af­ter he or she has served as chair­per­son or deputy chair­per­son for at least 12 months dur­ing the four-year term of Par­lia­ment.” Fiji is not the only coun­try where a Govern­ment MP can chair a com­mit­tee like PAC. The New Zealand equiv­a­lent of Pub­lic Ac­counts Com­mit­tee is the Fi­nance and Ex­pen­di­ture Com­mit­tee. The cur­rent chair­per­son is David Ben­nett of the Na­tional Party Govern­ment from Hamil­ton East.

In Aus­tralia, it is called the Joint Com­mit­tee of Pub­lic Ac­counts and Au­dit. It was most re­cently chaired by Ian Macfar­lane of the Lib­eral Party Govern­ment.

Ash­neel Sud­hakar:

Mr Sud­hakar re­placed Com­man­der Semi Koroilavesau as the Govern­ment Whip when the lat­ter be­came Min­is­ter for Em­ploy­ment, Pro­duc­tiv­ity and In­dus­trial Re­la­tions. He is a lawyer by pro­fes­sion and has qui­etly and quickly risen through the ranks within the Fi­jiFirst party and Govern­ment.

Bi­man Prasad (left) and Ash­neel Sud­hakar

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Fiji

© PressReader. All rights reserved.