In­dia pip New Zealand in Kanpur thriller to clinch series

Stabroek News - - STABROEK SPORT -

(Reuters) - In­dia reg­is­tered a 2-1 series vic­tory against New Zealand af­ter Jasprit Bum­rah’s tidy fi­nal over se­cured the hosts’ sixrun win in the third and fi­nal one-day in­ter­na­tional yes­ter­day.

New Zealand needed 15 runs off the fi­nal over to chase down a 338-run vic­tory tar­get but a nerve­less Bum­rah con­ceded only seven while pick­ing up his third wicket of the match to help In­dia pre­vail in the run­fest.

Ear­lier, cen­tu­ri­ons Vi­rat Kohli and Ro­hit Sharma fea­tured in a mam­moth 230-run stand to help the hosts post 337-6 af­ter New Zealand, wary of the dew fac­tor later in the evening, elected to field at Kanpur’s Green Park Sta­dium.

New Zealand lost opener Martin Gup­till early in their re­ply but Colin Munro smashed three sixes in his blis­ter­ing 75 and Kane Wil­liamson made a flu­ent 64 to help them over­come the early loss.

Wrist­spin­ner Yuzven­dra Cha­hal ended the 109-run part­ner­ship, dis­miss­ing both the bats­men but Tom Latham re­fused to throw in the towel.

Latham and Ross Tay­lor had en­gi­neered New Zealand’s suc­cess­ful in the series opener in Mum­bai and they looked de­ter­mined to reprised the role.

Bum­rah (3-47) poured cold wa­ter on their plans, how­ever, by first dis­miss­ing Tay­lor for 39 and then run­ning out Latham, who made 65, in the 48th over of the New Zealand in­nings.

Put into bat, In­dia lost Shikhar Dhawan (14) early but New Zealand had to toil in the sub­se­quent 35 overs as Kohli and Sharma be­came the first ODI pair to star in four dou­ble-cen­tury part­ner­ships.

Sharma bat­ted with char­ac­ter­is­tic el­e­gance to score 147 off 138 balls. His 15th one-day cen­tury was stud­ded with 18 bound­aries and a cou­ple of sixes be­fore he fell in the 42nd over.

Kohli was silky smooth at the other end as the In­dia cap­tain be­came the fastest bats­man to com­plete 9,000 ODI runs, achiev­ing the

In­dia In­nings Ro. Sharma c Southee b Sant­ner 147 S. Dhawan c Wil­liamson b Southee 14 V. Kohli c Wil­liamson b Southee 113 H. Pandya c Southee b Sant­ner 8 M. Dhoni c Munro b Milne 25 K. Jad­hav c Gup­till b Milne 18 D. Karthik not out 4 Ex­tras (lb-1 w-7) 8 To­tal (for 6 wick­ets, 50 overs) 337 Fall of wick­ets: 1-29 S. Dhawan,2-259 Ro. Sharma,3-273 H. Pandya,4-302 V. Kohli,5-331 M. Dhoni,6-337 K. Jad­hav Did not bat: A. Pa­tel, B. Ku­mar, J. Bum­rah, Y. Cha­hal Bowl­ing T. Southee 10 - 0 - 66 - 2(w-1) T. feat in 194 in­nings.

The right-han­der made 113 off 106 balls, with nine Boult 10 - 0 - 81 - 0(w-3) A. Milne 10 - 0 - 64 - 2(w-2) C. de Grand­homme 8 - 0 - 57 - 0 M. Sant­ner 10 - 0 - 58 - 2 C. Munro 2 - 0 - 10 0(w-1)

New Zealand In­nings M. Gup­till c Karthik b Bum­rah C. Munro b Cha­hal K. Wil­liamson c Dhoni b Cha­hal R. Tay­lor c Jad­hav b Bum­rah T. Latham run out (Dhoni, Bum­rah) H. Ni­cholls b B. Ku­mar C. de Grand­homme not out M. Sant­ner c S. Dhawan b Bum­rah T. Southee not out bound­aries and a six in his 32nd one-day cen­tury. The teams will next square off 10 75 64 39 65 37 8 9 4 in a three-match Twenty20 series be­gin­ning in New Delhi on Wed­nes­day. Ex­tras (lb-4 w-16) 20 To­tal (for 7 wick­ets, 50 overs) 331 Fall of wick­ets: 1-44 M. Gup­till,2-153 C. Munro,3-168 K. Wil­liamson,4-247 R. Tay­lor,5306 H. Ni­cholls,6-312 T. Latham,7-326 M. Sant­ner

Did not bat: A. Milne, T. Boult Bowl­ing B. Ku­mar 10 - 0 - 92 - 1(w-7) J. Bum­rah 10 - 0 - 47 - 3(w-2) H. Pandya 5 - 0 47 - 0(w-2) A. Pa­tel 7 - 0 - 40 - 0(w-1) K. Jad­hav 8 - 0 - 54 - 0(w-3) Y. Cha­hal 10 - 0 - 47 - 2(w-1) Ref­er­ees Um­pire: Anil Chaud­hary Um­pire: Michael Gough TV um­pire: Rod Tucker Match ref­eree: Chris Broad Re­sult: In­dia won by 6 runs

In­dia’s cricket team won the third One Day In­ter­na­tional against New Zealand yes­ter­day by six runs to take the three-match series 2-1.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Guyana

© PressReader. All rights reserved.