Mo­tor­sport News

Auto Today - - Dashboard -

THE DUO of Gau­rav Gill and Musa Sherif had yet an­other suc­cess­ful out­ing in their Mahin­dra XUV500 as they drove away with top hon­ours at the 2018 Maruti Suzuki Dak­shin Dare. This was the 50th rally for the Gill and Sherif pair­ing and saw them reg­is­ter­ing their 31st win. This was their 2nd Dak­shin Dare win. Cov­er­ing a to­tal dis­tance of 2,000-kilo­me­tre start­ing from Ben­galuru on Septem­ber 2 and travers­ing through Kar­nataka and Ma­ha­rash­tra, the 2018 edi­tion of Maruti Suzuki Dak­shin Dare con­cluded in Goa on Septem­ber 8. The win­ning pair took 6hr 57m 44s to com­plete the rally win­ning each of the five legs. Fin­ish­ing over 15 min­utes be­hind them were Philip­pos Matthai and PVS Moor­thy in the sec­ond XUV500. The re­sult meant that Mahin­dra man­aged the best pos­si­ble re­sult reg­is­ter­ing an im­pres­sive 1-2 fin­ish. Maruti Suzuki’s Sam­rat Ya­dav with Karan Aukta grabbed the fi­nal podium spot with a time of 7hr 21m 10s.

In the two-wheeler class, Vish­was S.D. brought his Yamaha home in first place, fol­lowed by Vi­nay Prasad and Yuva Ku­mar. The very last spe­cial stage, SS12 saw the lead change hands as Yuva ran out of luck. He was lead­ing the rally un­til his bike broke down just 15km shy of the fin­ish line. De­spite his best ef­forts to re­pair the dam­age and con­tinue, he was un­able to make up time and had to set­tle for third place with Vish­was mak­ing the most of Yuva’s mis­for­tune.

(L-R) Win­ners Vish­was SD, Gau­rav Gill and Musa Sherif of the 2018 Dak­shin Dare with their tro­phies

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.