Gulf Mon­soon Scooter Rally

A wind­ing route, slush, fierce com­pe­ti­tion, and a scooter; that was their idea of fun


The 28th edi­tion of

the Gulf Mon­soon Scooter Rally, or­gan­ised by Sportscraft in as­so­ci­a­tion with Gulf Oil Lu­bri­cants In­dia Lim­ited, took place on 2 July in Navi Mum­bai. The com­pe­ti­tion had two classes for each two-stroke (above 80 cc up to 110 cc and above 110 cc up to 160 cc) and four-stroke (up to 130 cc and above 130 cc up to 160 cc). This year there were 54 par­tic­i­pants with a ma­jor­ity of in­di­vid­ual en­tries and three teams, namely, TVS Rac­ing Team, Lor­raine’s Rac­ing and CEAT Team.

The rally was flagged off from Ho­tel K Star in Be­la­pur CCD by a pop­u­lar ra­dio jock­eys from Ra­dio City. Heavy rain on the days pre­ced­ing the event made the al­ready chal­leng­ing course a night­mare for the par­tic­i­pants. The wind­ing course of­fered un­pre­dictable ter­rain and con­di­tions, forc­ing the rid­ers to ex­er­cise ex­treme cau­tion. Some

rid­ers suf­fered a tum­ble or two in their ef­fort to post good times. Only 49 of the 54 en­tries com­pleted the race which was an achieve­ment in it­self be­cause, of the reg­is­tered num­ber, 22 were first-timers.

Venkatesh Shetty from Lor­raine’s Rac­ing took ev­ery­one by sur­prise by emerg­ing the win­ner on his Aprilia SR 150 over for­mi­da­ble com­pe­ti­tion that con­sisted of a plethora of for­mer cham­pi­ons. Sec­ond place went to Pinkesh Thakkar from CEAT Team who also rode an Aprilia SR 150 while the third place was claimed by de­fend­ing cham­pion, Syed Asif Ali from TVS Rac­ing Team, astride a TVS 4SXR 150. Three-time win­ner Shamim Khan fin­ished in fourth place.

Women power was ev­i­dent thanks to the ef­forts of Nidhi Shukla of Team CEAT, rid­ing a Honda Ac­tiva, and Priya Gala astride a Suzuki Ac­cess. Be­tween them, the for­mer was the first to cross the line.

An un­ex­pected and well-de­served win for Venkatesh Shetty from Lor­raine’s Rac­ing

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.