Anin­dith leads c’ship

Anin­dith stretches his lead in the Euro JK17 cham­pi­onship while Chittesh leads in the LGB F4 class


ROUND THREE OF THE JK NRC took place at the Kari Mo­tor Speed­way, on Septem­ber 2 and 3. While this was the penul­ti­mate round for the Euro JK 17, the LGB For­mula 4 and Gixxer Cup races, this was the fi­nal round for the young­sters in the Red Bull Road to Rook­ies qual­i­fiers.

Euro JK 17

Anin­dith Reddy started on pole in front of Vishnu Prasad and Nayan Chat­ter­jee. How­ever, Ricky Capo won, fol­lowed by Akash Gowda and Nayan. Anin­dith won race 2, but Nir­mal who was in sec­ond place spun at the last cor­ner, al­low­ing Akash to take sec­ond and Ash­win Datta took third.

In race 3, Anin­dith lead from the start to fin­ish. Vishnu fin­ished sec­ond and Ricky fin­ished third. Vikash Anand started race 4 on pole and a jump start fol­lowed by a spin at C1 saw him drop po­si­tions. The race was won by Vishnu, fol­lowed by Anin­dith and Akash.


Kol­ha­pur’s Chittesh Man­dody qual­i­fied on pole with Diljith T S in P2 while Vishnu Prasad qual­i­fied in P3. Chittesh took the win fol­lowed by Ro­hit Khanna and Vishnu in race 1. Race 2 was a re­verse grid from eighth, and Diljith fin­ished the race first. Raghul Ran­gasamy fin­ished in sec­ond with San­deep Ku­mar in third. Diljith won race 3, San­deep placed sec­ond and Raghul placed third af­ter a fight­ing through the ranks.

Suzuki Gixxer Cup

Joseph Matthew was on pole, fol­lowed by Syed Muza­m­mil Ali and Lal­maw­ipuia. Mal­sawm­dawngliana gave him a tough fight but Joseph held on to the lead to claim the vic­tory by a fine mar­gin. Joseph started race two on pole, but dropped down af­ter the start. Sachin Chaud­hary took the lead but Mal­sawm­dawngliana pipped him of the lead in the last lap, forc­ing Sachin in to sec­ond and Joseph in third.

Road to Rook­ies Cup

Lalhru­aizela had al­ready se­cured his berth as In­dia’s rep­re­sen­ta­tive at the Rook­ies Cup qual­i­fiers to be held in Spain. He started the last race of his sea­son in P2, be­hind Jaden and with Lal­nun­sanga in P3. The three were neck in neck down to the last lap, but ul­ti­mately it was Jaden who made it to the che­quered flag first fol­lowed by Lal­nun­sanga and Lalhru­aizela. ⌧ In a one-of-a-kind event, Syed Asif Ali won the Gulf Mon­soon Scooter Au­tocross aboard his TVS SXR 150. Rid­ing in the premier Group B upto 210cc class, Asif won the event in his home town of Bhopal by lap­ping the course in 2 min­utes 57.41 sec­onds. TVS Rac­ing com­pleted a 1-2-3 in the class with Im­ran Pasha and Aakash Sat­pute join­ing Asif Ali on the podium. In the Group C 110-160cc class, Aprilia’s SR 150 reigned supreme with Muzaf­far Ali, Aprilia Rac­ing’s Pinkesh Thakkar and Venkatesh Shetty seal­ing the podium. Nidhi Shukla, rid­ing for the Aprilia Rac­ing team on the SR 150, was the fastest lady of the event. Reigning cham­pion Gau­rav Gill wins his sec­ond rally of the sea­son in Ja­pan. This has been an ex­cit­ing sea­son of the APRC so far with both Gill and team­mate Ole Christian Veiby win­ning two ral­lies so far. Gill had a tough time in the pre­vi­ous rally in Malaysia and the win in Ja­pan helps him breathe a sigh of re­lief. Team MRF-Skoda has wrapped up the man­u­fac­turer’s cham­pi­onship yet again. Gill has a 21-point lead head­ing into the fi­nal round in Chik­ma­galur, In­dia; a rally where he has had a good record.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.