Cong sweeps Nanded civic polls, NCP sinks

Hindustan Times (Delhi) - - NATION - HT Cor­re­spon­dent let­ters@hin­dus­tan­

BIG WIN FOR CHA­VAN BJP’S vic­tory run in Ma­ha­rash­tra civil polls ends, bags six seats in cru­cial elec­tions, Sena man­ages only one

MUM­BAI: With 69 seats in its kitty, the Con­gress reg­is­tered a sweep­ing vic­tory in the Nanded-waghala mu­nic­i­pal cor­po­ra­tion elec­tions, the home turf of state party chief Ashok Cha­van.

The BJP bagged six seats while the Shiv Sena won one seat and the NCP and All In­dia Ma­jlis-e-it­te­hadul Mus­limeen (AIMIM) drew a blank.

The polls, which reg­is­tered 64.82% vot­ing, were fought closely between the Con­gress and NCP. Although the re­sults were un­ex­pected for the rul­ing BJP, it is more shock­ing for the Shiv Sena and Na­tion­al­ist Con­gress Party, which had 14 and 10 sit­ting cor­po­ra­tors re­spec­tively.

Cha­van said peo­ple voted in favour of de­vel­op­ment. “The BJP got can­di­dates with­out ver­i­fy­ing their cre­den­tials. This has cost them dearly,” he said.

The mu­nic­i­pal cor­po­ra­tion of Nanded, home turf of state Con­gress chief and for­mer chief min­is­ter Cha­van, has been ruled by the Con­gress, since it came into ex­is­tence two decades ago. Cha­van had put his might in the polls en­sur­ing a three-way fight and avoid­ing a split in mi­nor­ity votes. The Con­gress has 41 mem­bers in the out­go­ing civic body that has a to­tal of 81 seats, fol­lowed by 14 Sena cor­po­ra­tors, 11 of AIMIM and NCP’S 10.

The cam­paign for the polls wit­nessed a bit­ter war of words between Con­gress, BJP and Sena. The BJP had won 12 of the 16 civic bodies for which polls were held this year, ex­pand­ing its foot­print over the state’s ur­ban ar­eas at the cost of the Op­po­si­tion and its ally, the Shiv Sena. But its vic­tory run stopped in Nanded.

The BJP won by-polls in Bhandup, Kore­gaon Park, Pune and Kol­ha­pur held on Wed­nes­day. BJP’S Ja­gruti Patil de­feated Sena’s Meenakshi Patil in Bhandup by a vote mar­gin of 4,892 while Hi­mali Kam­ble de­feated NCP’S Dhanan­jay Gaik­wad in Pune by 4,483 votes. The BJP had joined hands with Re­pub­li­can Party of In­dia in Pune. In Kol­ha­pur, BJP’S Rat­nesh Shi­rolkar was de­clared the win­ner.


BJP can­di­date Ja­gruti Patil cel­e­brates af­ter her vic­tory, at Bhandup in Mum­bai on Thurs­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.