Millennium Post - - FRONT PAGE -

NEW DELHI: Ex­press­ing deep con­cern over the de­face­ment of roads and fly­overs, South Delhi Mu­nic­i­pal Cor­po­ra­tion (SDMC) Mayor Ka­mal­jeet Sehrawat on Wed­nes­day warned that le­gal ac­tion would be taken against of­fend­ers if such acts are re­peated.

The re­sults for the Delhi Univer­sity Stu­dents Union (DUSU) polls were an­nounced on Wed­nes­day, cap­ping weeks of cam­paign­ing. Typ­i­cal stu­dents' union elec­tion posters, bear­ing names of can­di­dates in colour­ful and large fonts against a white back­ground, be­come a com­mon sight ev­ery year dur­ing the poll sea­son, with walls of many pub­lic build­ings and fly­overs splat­tered with them.

“Nu­mer­ous such posters were found pasted in dif­fer­ent parts of the na­tional Cap­i­tal, de­te­ri­o­rat­ing the beauty of the city, apart from vi­o­lat­ing of the ‘Delhi De­face­ment Act',” an SDMC of­fi­cial said.

On Wed­nes­day, Sehrawat, along with the chair­man of ed­u­ca­tion com­mit­tee Su­nil Se­hdev, Cen­tral Zone chair­man Ra­j­pal Singh and a num­ber of coun­cil­lors in­spected sev­eral walls and fly­overs af­ter re­ceiv­ing com­plaints and found a large num­ber of such posters pasted. They were joined by lo­cal peo­ple for re­moval of posters.

The Delhi Pre­ven­tion of De­face­ment of Prop­erty Act, 2007, seeks to curb de­face­ment of prop­erty and can in­vite im­pris­on­ment for a term ex­tend­ing to one year, or fine ex­tend­ing to Rs 50,000, or both.

Is­su­ing a stern warn­ing, Sehrawat said, "There should be no rep­e­ti­tion of such acts. Le­gal ac­tion will be taken against per­sons found in­volved in such acts."

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.