Only non-BJP lead­ers in­vited to Pranab Mukher­jee’s au­to­bi­og­ra­phy re­lease to­day

The Free Press Journal - - NATION -

The third vol­ume of for­mer Pres­i­dent Pranab Mukher­jee’s au­to­bi­og­ra­phy ‘The Coali­tion Years -1996-2012’ will be re­leased on Fri­day in the pres­ence of for­mer Prime Min­is­ter Man­mo­han Singh and lead­ers of non-BJP par­ties.

Cu­ri­ously, the in­vi­ta­tion for the book launch func­tion has listed the names of CPIM leader Si­taram Yechury, CPI leader S. Sud­hakar Reddy, Sa­ma­jwadi Party chief Akhilesh Ya­dav, BSP leader Satish Chan­dra Mishra, DMK leader Kan­i­mozhi be­sides Con­gress Vice Pres­i­dent Rahul Gandhi.

How­ever, it does not have any name from the BJP or the NDA. As Pres­i­dent, Mukher­jee had good equa­tions with the BJP-led NDA govern­ment at the Cen­tre.

The book be­ing pub­lished by Rupa Pub­li­ca­tions tracks Mukher­jee’s jour­ney from 1996 and explores the highs and lows that char­ac­ter­ized 16 years of “one of the most tu­mul­tuous pe­ri­ods in the na­tion's po­lit­i­cal his­tory”, ac­cord­ing to the syn­op­sis.

The book has an ac­count of the larger gov­er­nance phe­nom­e­non in In­dia -- coali­tion pol­i­tics “as seen through the eyes of one of the chief ar­chi­tects of the post-Con­gress era of In­dian pol­i­tics”. Mukher­jee was an ac­tive par­tic­i­pant in the con­tem­po­rary de­vel­op­ments that re­shaped the course of the coun­try’s po­lit­i­cal, eco­nomic and so­cial destiny.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.