Dempsey ad­di­tion sure to boost Seagulls’ hopes

Bray People - - SPORT -

THE BRAY WAN­DER­ERS class of 2013 has been as­sem­bled. The vast ma­jor­ity of last sea­son's squad has been re­tained, while there has been one gar­gan­tuan ad­di­tion sure to de­light all Seagulls.

Seagulls le­gend Ja­son Byrne, cap­tain Danny O'Connor and goal­keeper Dar­ren Quigley are just a few of the many key mem­bers of last sea­son's squad who have re­turned to try and help the Seasiders re­tain their Pre­mier Di­vi­sion sta­tus for a club record 11 th time.

Per­haps the most ex­cit­ing name on the list is that of Bray Wan­der­ers 2011 player of the year Gary Dempsey, who has re­turned to the Carlisle Grounds hav­ing spent last term with Water­ford United.

The most no­table ab­sen­tees from the list are Sean Hous­ton, Dane Massey and Adam Han­lon.

Hous­ton has com­pleted his stud­ies in Dublin and has moved back to his home­town of Done­gal and with this in mind the twin­kle-toed mid­fielder has opted to sign for nearby Derry City.

Dane Massey has de­cided to join Stephen Kenny's rev­o­lu­tion at 2012 pro­mo­tion/rel­e­ga­tion play-off win­ners Dun­dalk FC whereas Han­lon has opted to sign for Shel­bourne.

A whole host of ex­cit­ing young­sters have been named in the panel also. Pat Devlin's charges kick off their sea­son on Fri­day, March 8, at home to Adam Han­lon and his new Shel­bourne team­mates.

The full Bray Wan­der­ers squad is: Ja­son Byrne, Gary Dempsey, Danny O'Connor, Kevin O'Connor, Shane O'Connor, Kieran 'Marty' Wa­ters, Dar­ren Quigley, Dean Zam­bra, John Mul­roy, Daire Doyle, Conor Ear­ley, Kevin Knight, Brian Kane, Dave Web­ster, Paul Mof­fatt, Is­mahil Ak­i­nade, Ger Pen­der,

Eoin Hyland, Bidemi Afo­labi, Colm Be­g­ley, Paul Clif­ford, David Cros­bie, Conor Ffrench, Ti­mothy Hawe, Neil O'Kane, Ed McDonagh, Ryan Matthews, Adrian Raf­ferty, Stephen McGuin­ness.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.