O’rourke runs amok against poor Bar­rowsiders

Bray People - - SPORT -


THE U-21 foot­ballers con­tin­ues their hec­tic sched­ule of matches on Tues­day night when they trav­elled to the Pala­tine GAA grounds to take on Car­low in the first round of a tour­na­ment run by the Bar­rowsiders.

While Wicklow were not at full strength for this match they still turned in a good per­for­mance, led all the way and ran out good win­ners.

Paddy O'Rourke got us off to a good start with a smart point in the sec­ond minute but it was his Dunlavin name sake Shane O'Rourke that really got the show on the road with a smash­ing goal in the fourth minute.

Dar­ragh O'Brien got Car­low off the mark when he pointed a free but then An Tochar's Paddy Crow­ley pow­ered his way through a be­wil­dered de­fence to fairly test the rig­gings of the net. While O'Brien pulled back the deficit again when he pointed his sec­ond free Wicklow still went in with a com­fort­able lead at half time - 2-5 to 0-2.

Noth­ing much changed in the sec­ond half even though the Wicklow se­lec­tors be­gan to bring on their re­serve play­ers. Eoin Devlin stormed into the game in the half for­ward line, scor­ing two good points.

The un­re­lated O'Rourke boys con­tin­ued to tor­ment the home de­fence while Shane Ho­gan and Theo Smith re­mained on top at cen­tre field.

John Man­ley had an­other good game at full back while goalie Paul Mi­ley han­dled what ever came his way.

The un­re­lated O'Brien's and Aaron Murphy looked good in the half back­line while P.J.O'Ke­effe, Phillip Murphy and James Kelly also had their mo­ments.

It could be dan­ger­ous to read too much into this re­sult as Car­low looked a mod­er­ate enough team on the night.

Wicklow - Paul Mi­ley (Val­ley­mount), Jamie Snell, John Man­ley (Rath­new), Jimmy Kelly (Dunlavin); Aaron Murphy (Bray E), Ross O'Brien (Rath­new), Martin O'Brien (Annacurra); Theo Smith (Rath­new)(0-01); Shane Ho­gan (Ti­na­hely)(0-01); Eoin Devlin (Bless­ing­ton) (0-02), Paddy Crow­ley (An Tochar)(1-00), Paddy O'Rourke (Ti­na­hely) (0-02); P.J. O'Ke­effe (Hol­ly­wood) (0-01), Phillip Murphy (Rath­new), Shane O'Rourke (Dunlavin) (1-04).

Subs: Alan Daly (Donard)(0-01), Phillip O'Connor (New­cas­tle), Michael Man­gan (Strat­fordGrange­con), Joey Doyle (Ash­ford).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.