Blessington power to win over Lacken

Bray People - - SPORT -


WHILE the ex­changes were close in the open­ing 10 min­utes, Blessington still man­aged to pick up five points, two from Sean Mescall and one from Alan El­lis, and two points from frees from Stephen Car­roll.

Paul Phibbs, af­ter 12 min­utes, picked up Lacken’s first point of the game how­ever, over the fol­low­ing 10 min­utes through the Mescall broth­ers, Ciaran and Sean, Glen Far­rell and two from Alan El­lis, Blessington ex­tended their lead to 0-10 to 0-01 be­fore Aaron Grif­fith pointed a Lacken free.

Sean Mur­phy pointed an­other free for Lacken shortly af­ter­wards, how­ever, Sean Mescall added a fur­ther point be­fore half time to leave Blessington com­fort­ably lead­ing 0-11 to 0-03 at half-time.

Five min­utes into the sec­ond half a free from Sean Mur­phy landed in the Blessington square and with Blessington fail­ing to clear the ball David Reddy pounced and net­ted for Lacken. How­ever, in­stead of ig­nit­ing a Lacken re­vival it was the fi­nal score of the game for the Lacken team. Lacken con­tin­ued to chase down ev­ery ball and made the Blessington for­wards fight for ev­ery score they got.

Stephen Car­roll kicked six points in the sec­ond half for the Blues and Adam Boland added two for a fi­nal score of 0-19 to 1-3.

Sean McGarr did well at full­back in a de­fence that held Lacken to 1–1 from play whilst the Bless- in­g­ton mid­field and for­wards scor­ing 19 points was a good re­turn but there re­mains a lot to work to be com­pet­i­tive in this championship. Whilst Lacken fought valiantly, more scores will be needed.

Robert Gilligan; Stephen Byrne, Sean McGarr, Wayne Mi­ley; Glen Far­rell (0-1), Aaron Cur­ran, Paddy Reilly; Shane Fisher, Peter O’Con­nell; Jack Cot­ter, Alan El­lis (0-3), Sean Mescall (0-4); Stephen Car­roll (0-8), Adam Boland (0-2), Ciaran Mescall (0-1). Subs: Damian Breen, JP Moran, Danil­lis Sakusas, Ciaran McEn­roy, Daniel Ryan.

James O’Neill; Ken­neth Balfe, Eoin Cripps, Paddy Nolan; Ger­ard Kelly, Philip Gal­lagher, Daniel Grif­fith; Tom McGuire, Paul Phibbs (0-1); Aaron Grif­fith (0-1), Sean Mur­phy (0-1), Ryan Sheri­dan; Adam McG­lynn, David Reddy. (1-0), Jor­dan Balfe. Subs: Mick Flood, Tom Broe, Craig Jones.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.