Drogheda Independent - - NEWS - By HU­BERT MUR­PHY

X FAC­TOR judge Louis Walsh and fel­low de­ci­sion mak­ers will have a tough time try­ing to se­lect the win­ner of the 2018 Sec­ondary School Stars if the heats of the com­pe­ti­tion are any­thing to go by.

The TLT saw an awe­some pa­rade of ta­lent for two nights last week - and now the task is pick­ing a win­ner.

Thurs­day’s show pro­duced a stun­ning night, be­gin­ning with Ash­bourne band Pub­lic Warn­ing and warm­ing into a haunt­ing even­ing by times, Kae­lah Maguire from Bal­ly­makenny Col­lege sim­ply unique, Saoirse Hay­den fan­tas­tic, and Tadgh Lynch (14) a ma­jes­tic pi­ano player.

Abo Ob­hakham danced her heart out and d Katie and Aoife Lynch from Sa­cred Heart a re­mark­able duet.

Rachel Akanu’s ‘ lovely tone’ im­pressed judge Saoirse Ka­vanagh and Oisin Dunne’s danc­ing feet were ex­cep­tional. Laura and Abbey Rice were full of en­ergy and the Elite Dance Crew were well versed in en­ter­tain­ing the crowd.

Loads of emo­tion came via Amy Ka­vanagh and Aoife Walsh’s ‘Pho­to­graph’ was also unique.

Ashley Abbe­deen’s con­trol of ‘Amer­i­can Boy’ was de­scribed as ‘ridicu­lous’ by judge Saoirse Ka­vanagh, the Green­hills girl spell­bind­ing on the night.

Naoise Duffy from Dun­dalk is an­other con­tender and Sarah Maxwell’s tra­di­tional voice cap­ti­vated the au­di­ence, judge Amie Dyer re­marked.

Daire Grant An­drews was very pol­ished, Lau­ren Crosby had all the moves and St Oliver’s choir, with a song writ­ten by mem­ber, Patrick, fo­cused on abuse against women and was equally stun­ning.

The qual­i­fiers were: Tadgh Lynch, Elite Dance Crew, Ashley Abbe­deen, Katie & Aoife Lynch, Oisin Dunne, Naoise Duffy. Au­di­ence Vote: Daire Grant An­drews, Lau­ren Crosby, Sarah Maxwell, Abo Ob­hakham, Pub­lic Warn­ing, Laura & Abbey Rice. Wild­card: Adam Mooney

Last Tues­day also proved to be a sparkling night and the qual­i­fiers are: Au­di­ence Vote 1. Tribe 2. Neil Mur­ray 3. Ruairi Holo­han 4.Ail­ish Car­roll 5. Farai Chari, 6. Scoil Ui Mhuiri Choir. Judges Vote; Sarah Yeats, Finn Fitzger­ald, Faoi Gheasa, Coin­neach Farrell, Alex Gorm­ley, Michael Mc Donnell.

Ashley Abbe­deen

Mem­bers of The St. Oliver’s School Choir.

Katie and Aoife Lynch.

Laura and Abbey Rice from Green­hills.

Kae­lah Maguire from Bal­ly­makenny Col­lege.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.