Easkey St Far­nan’s cap­ture Mi­nor Hurl­ing ti­tle

The Sligo Champion - - SPORT - BY FRANCES HAN­LEY

EASKEY/ St. Far­nan’s 4-9, TOURLESTRANE/ Curry 1-6 THIS game was played in very calm, damp con­di­tions on Satur­day last in Tourlestrane .The first point of the game came from James Weir who lined out at mid­field and was to play a prom­i­nent role through­out the game for Easkey/ St Far­nan’s.An­drew Kil­cullen got the first goal of the game with a well worked ef­fort. Joe Mol­loy, Tourlestrane’s cap­tain got their first score from a free. He and Thomas Caw­ley of Easkey/ St. Far­nan’s traded frees to leave the score Easkey 1-3, Tourlestrane 0-3. Tourlestrane had a shot on goal but it was blocked down by goalie Donall Han­ley. Fionn Con­nolly got a point from play and on the stroke of half time An­drew Kil­cullen added a sec­ond goal to leave the half time score Easkey/St. Far­nan’s 2-4, Tourlestrane/ Curry 0-3. Easkey were wor­thy of their lead and might have been fur­ther ahead were it not for the work of Tourlestrane’s back line. Easkey had picked up prac­ti­cally all of their puck outs with ex­cel­lent work by James Weir and Niall Kil­cullen. Af­ter the break Easkey started the bet­ter, get­ting four points with­out re­ply be­fore Tourlestrane got a score, a goal from Adam Broe. This goal added im­pe­tus to the game and Tourlestrane got the next three points, two from Joe Mol­loy off a free and a well taken 65” and a point from play by Rian Bai­ley. The score read Easkey 2-8, Tourlestrane 1-6.Any hope of a re­vival by Tourlestrane was ended when Easkey’s An­drew Kil­cullen was fouled and the penalty taken by An­drew him­self struck the back of the net. The game as a con­test was over and it was fi­nally com­pleted with an­other goal , again by An­drew.

Tourlestrane fought hard and had some good per­for­mances by a num­ber of play­ers, no­tably cap­tains Joe Mol­loy and Sean Mc Veigh,Rian Bai­ley, Conor Gil­li­gan and Ro­nan Walsh. Easkey/ St. Far­nan’s Mid­field pair­ing James Weir and Niall Kil­cullen did well as did An­drew Kil­cullen, Gavin Con­nolly , Thomas Caw­ley and Fionn Con­nolly. The cup was pre­sented to Sean Hal­li­nan(capt.) by Pat Con­way.

Easkey/St. Far­nan’s: Donall Han­ley,Sean Hal­li­nan(capt.), Shane Mol­loy, Eoghan Rua Mc Gowan, Kevin Mc Gee, Gavin Con­nolly, Eanna Moy­lan, Niall Kil­cullen, James Weir(0-1), Fionn Con­nolly (0-1),An­drew Kil­cullen(4-1(1-0 pen) Thomas Caw­ley(0-5(4f), Jim Davis, Fionn Moy­lan, Fer­gal Cur­ran(0-1).

Tourlestrane/Curry:Mark Lundy, Rian Walsh, Conor Gil­li­gan, Jon Durkin, Jack Walsh, Sean Mc Veigh(capt.), Eoin Walsh, Joe Mol­loy(capt)(0-5(4f,65”), Daniel Cun­nie, Rian Bai­ley(0-1), Adam Broe(1-0), Ro­nan Walsh, Cian Surlis, Fei­dhlim O’ Don­nell, Cathal Flem­ing.

SUBS used: Conor O’ Hara, Daniel Mullen; Subs: Fer­gal Mon­aghan, David Bren­nan, Ro­nan Lang, Cian Dukin.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.