De­bat­ing fi­nal was a very close call

Wexford People - - NEWS - By BREN­DAN KEANE

THE FI­NAL of the Wex­ford Pri­mary Schools’ de­bat­ing com­pe­ti­tion was held re­cently in the Farmer’s Kitchen and it proved to be a closely con­tested event.

Rathangan Na­tional School faced off against their coun­ter­parts from Mur­rin­town in the fi­nal and they de­bated the mo­tion that ‘ad­ver­tis­ing dur­ing chil­dren’s tele­vi­sion pro­grammes should be banned’.

The propos­ing team was Rathangan which was com­posed of Eve Dono­hoe (Cap­tain), Ella Ben­son and Orla Byrne while the op­pos­ing team was com­posed of Mary Roe (Cap­tain), James He­garty and Róisín Alouf.

The de­bate was Chaired by John Kelly, from Rathangan NS, and he was very im­pressed by the ar­gu­ments put forth from both sides.

Sixth class pupils from both schools were in at­ten­dance along with teachers, Kevin Mur­phy and Johnny Mur­phy.

The par­ents of the team mem­bers were also among those present.

The Prin­ci­pal in Mur­rin­town, Maureen Gil­bane, and her sis­ter, Ita Cun­ning­ham, from Rathangan school, had pre­pared their re­spec­tive teams to the high­est stan­dard and that was ev­i­dent on the day in the man­ner with which both teams per­formed.

The ad­ju­di­ca­tors, who com­pli­mented the teams on how they pre­sented them­selves, in­cluded Don and Phil Heenan, and Se­nan Lil­lis.

The teams that rep­re­sented Danescas­tle and Cross­abeg Na­tional Schools in the semi-fi­nals were also present at the fi­nal and the Prin­ci­pal of Bal­lymitty Na­tional School, Audrey McCarthy, had 22 chil­dren from Fifth Class at the event as they will be com­pet­ing next year in the com­pe­ti­tion.

The fi­nal was very ex­cit­ing and full of ten­sion and the ad­ju­di­ca­tors were left with a tough choice to make as to who posed the stronger ar­gu­ment.

Don Heenan an­nounced the re­sult and re­vealed it was a split de­ci­sion from the ad­ju­di­ca­tors with Rathangan ul­ti­mately de­feat­ing Mur­rin­town by the small­est of mar­gins.

Mr Heenan praised both teams for the high stan­dard of their con­tent and de­liv­ery and he also high­lighted the im­por­tance of re­spect­ful de­bate in so­ci­ety and said the chil­dren on both teams set a great ex­am­ple for ev­ery­one.

Mr Lil­lis pre­sented the cup to Rathangan’s Cap­tain, Eve Dono­hoe, while Mr Heenan pre­sented medals to both teams.

The Prin­ci­pal of the win­ning school, Ni­cola Roche, thanked County Wex­ford Ed­u­ca­tion Cen­tre for spon­sor­ing the cup and medals. Ms Roche was also the co­or­di­na­tor of the com­pe­ti­tion and in that ca­pac­ity she pre­sented Certificates of Par­tic­i­pa­tion to the semi-fi­nal­ists from Cross­abeg and Danescas­tle.

The two fi­nal­ist teams then made pre­sen­ta­tions to the ad­ju­di­ca­tors and Eve Dono­hoe, speak­ing on be­half of both teams, thanked the teachers and fel­low-class­mates for their on­go­ing sup­port through­out the com­pe­ti­tion lead­ing up to the fi­nal.

The pre­sen­ta­tion to the win­ning team from Rathangan NS af­ter the fi­nal of the County Wex­ford Pri­mary Schools’ de­bat­ing com­pe­ti­tion in the Farmer’s Kitchen (from left): Ni­cola Roche (schoool prin­ci­pal), Ita Cun­ning­ham (teacher), John Kelly, Dan Heenan...

Run­ners-up from Mur­rin­town NS: Roisin Alouf, Mary Roe, Maureen Kil­bane (prin­ci­pal), James He­garty and Hay­ley Case.

Semi fi­nal­ists from Danescas­tle NS, Car­rig On Ban­now: Lily Kelly, Robyn Roche, Aideen Harpur and Kate Harpur.

Semi fi­nal­ists from Cross­abeg NS: Eoin Gleeson, Jodie Mor­ris­sey and Mia McDonald.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.