Dales mov­ing nicely!

Wicklow People - - SPORT -

AVONDALE heaped more woe on a strug­gling Annacurra side last week­end when they dis­patched John Hynes’ men by 2-12 to 1-10 to leave them sec­ond from bot­tom with four de­feats from five games.

Goals from the in-form Oisin McGraynor, who can do no wrong it seems across two codes, and Ross Ward helped Em­met O’Sul­li­van’s men to their vic­tory over a de­pleted but com­pet­i­tive Annacurra out­fit.

The home side had to take to the field without the ser­vices of Bob Fitzger­ald, Shane McAl­lis­ter, Martin O’Brien and Ian McDon­ald af­ter their ap­peal against the four red cards in the Kil­mac game the pre­vi­ous week was turned down by the Wick­low Ap­peals Com­mit­tee late last week.

With Dean Barnes away on hol­i­days and Liam ‘Reilly’ Moules in­jured it left Annacurra with a steep hill to climb. How­ever, had two early goal chances been con­verted by full-for­ward Frank Clune, a dif­fer­ent out­come could well have been on the cards.

McGraynor was op­er­at­ing at full-for­ward against the for­mi­da­ble ad­ver­sary of Alan Byrne and the lethal at­tacker left the field at half­time hav­ing picked up a knock but with 1-1 to his credit.

Conor Byrne, Ross Ward, and

Sean McGraynor lead the scor­ing in the sec­ond half with 1-7 shared be­tween them, while the vis­i­tors had good per­for­mances all round with Eoin Baker, Ea­monn Kearns and Barry Shee­han dom­i­nat­ing the mid­dle.

Annacurra’s Gearoid Mur­phy contributed 1-4 to the cause (two frees), Clive Ho­ran notched three points (two frees) while Alan Byrne caused his own brand of trou­ble in the Avondale de­fence when he fired home a goal to the back of Brian Burke’s net.

John Hynes will be happy with his side’s en­deav­our and bat­tling qual­i­ties and he will know that there are bet­ter days ahead when he can call on more of his stal­warts.

Avondale: Brian Burke, Si­mon Cullen, Shane Byrne, Shane Beevor, Jack Man­ley, Eugene Dunne, Adam Ben­son Byrne, Eoin Baker (0-1), Ea­monn Kearns, Paul Ga­han (0-1), Barry Shee­han (0-1), Sean McGraynor (0-2), Conor Byrne (0-4), Oisin McGraynor (1-1), Ross Ward (1-1). Subs: Aonghus O’Bhri­ain, Liam Kin­sella, Saoirse Kearon, Davy Baker (0-1), Cian O’Han­nain, Shane O’Neill, Sea­mus McGraynor, Kevin Fitz­patrick, Joe Kennedy, An­thony Byrne, Pa­trick Kin­sella.

Annacurra: David Whitty; Glen Austin, Alan Byrne, James Keenan; Niall Mur­phy, El­liot Robin­son, Mic hael Healy; Mick O’Brien, Paul McDon­ald; Colm Ma­her, Gearoid Mur­phy, Shane O’Ke­effe; Clive Ho­ran, Frank Clune, Ciaran Byrne. Subs: Cian Moules for S O’Ke­effe (inj), Pa­trick O’Neill for C Ma­her. Ref­eree: Gar­reth Whe­lan

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Ireland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.