He ben­e­fited from DAP’s CEC re-elec­tion, says Ger­akan veep

New Straits Times - - News - FER­NANDO FONG KUALA LUMPUR kee.soon@nst.com.my

GER­AKAN vice-pres­i­dent Datuk Dr Do­minic Lau said DAP sec­re­tary-gen­eral Lim Guan Eng should stop pre­tend­ing that he has not ben­e­fited from the party’s cen­tral ex­ec­u­tive com­mit­tee (CEC) re-elec­tion.

He said Lim had ex­tended his reign, de­spite cry­ing foul that DAP had been forced to carry out the re-elec­tion, which was held last Sun­day.

“Lim should stop the playacting in his crit­i­cism of the Reg­is­trar of So­ci­eties (RoS).

“He is the big­gest win­ner, as his ten­ure as sec­re­tary-gen­eral would have ended if not for the re-elec­tion,” said Lau yes­ter­day.

Lau said Lim was ap­pointed sec­re­tary-gen­eral in 2004 and 2008.

If the party poll re­sults in 2012 and 2013 were recog­nised, Lim’s ten­ure should have ended last year.

“Due to RoS’s de­ci­sion that DAP must hold a re-elec­tion, Lim’s ten­ure is ex­tended to 16 years.

“Lim will serve a third term as sec­re­tary-gen­eral un­til 2020,” said Lau. The DAP con­sti­tu­tion al­lows an in­di­vid­ual to hold the sec­re­tary-gen­eral's post only for three terms.

In the polls, DAP ad­viser Lim Kit Siang drew the most num­ber of votes with 1,199, fol­lowed by Pu­chong mem­ber of par­lia­ment Gobind Singh Deo with 1,198.

Lim came in third place with 1,180 votes.

Other DAP can­di­dates who made it onto the list of 20 CEC mem­bers are Chong Chieng Jen, Teresa Kok, Tan Kok Wai, Tony Pua, Nga Kor Ming, Fong Kui Lun, Chow Kon Yeow, M. Ku­lasegaran, Chong Eng, Teng Chang Khim, Ngeh Koo Ham and Zairil Khir Jo­hari. Held for the third time, the polls were to choose mem­bers for the party’s 2012 CEC.

In 2013, RoS or­dered DAP to hold a re-elec­tion for its CEC mem­bers fol­low­ing com­plaints from party mem­bers over al­leged mis­han­dling of its elec­tion on Dec 15, 2012.

These in­cluded claims that 753 del­e­gates were not given a chance to cast their votes.

Fol­low­ing the di­rec­tive, DAP held a re-elec­tion on Sept 29, 2013 for the 2012 term us­ing the same list of del­e­gates.

Datuk Dr Do­minic Lau

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malaysia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.