Os­car dig­its by the

Here’s a fun look at the academy awards ... all in num­bers!

The Star Malaysia - Star2 - - OSCAR SPECIAL -


The Turn­ing Point (1977) and The Color Pur­ple (1985) didn’t win any­thing de­spite re­ceiv­ing 11 nom­i­na­tions each.


The num­ber of people who have won a post­hu­mous Os­car for act­ing; Peter Finch in 1977 for Net­work and Heath Ledger, in the best sup­port­ing ac­tor cat­e­gory for 2008’s The

DarkKnight. They were both Aus­tralians.


Films which have won in all five main cat­e­gories (Best Pic­ture, Di­rec­tor, Ac­tor, Ac­tress, and Screen­play [orig­i­nal or adapted]) – It Hap­pened One Night (1934), One Flew

Over The Cuckoo’s Nest (1975) and The Si­lence Of The Lambs (1991).


The weight of the shiny Os­car stat­uette in kilo­grams. It has a 24karat gold plat­ing on its sur­face; be­neath it is a metal mix­ture called Bri­tan­nium – com­pris­ing an al­loy of tin (93%), an­ti­mony (5%), and cop­per (2%).


The num­ber of times Leonardo DiCaprio has been nom­i­nated. His first was in 1993 for

What’s Eat­ing Gil­bert Grape in the Best Sup­port­ing Ac­tor cat­e­gory. Then he was nom­i­nated in the Best Ac­tor cat­e­gory for

The Avi­a­tor in 2005 and Blood Di­a­mond in 2007. This year, The Wolf Of Wall Street earned him two nom­i­na­tions – Best Ac­tor and Best Pic­ture (he is

one of the film’s pro­duc­ers). Good luck, Leo.


Peter O’Toole was nom­i­nated eight times, in the Best Ac­tor cat­e­gory, be­gin­ning with Lawrence Of Ara­bia in 1963. His last nom­i­na­tion was in 2007 for Venus. He never won. In 2003, the Academy of Mo­tion Pic­ture Arts & Sci­ence‘s Board of Gov­er­nors awarded him with an Hon­orary Os­car.


Ta­tum O’Neal was only 10 when she won the best ac­tress in a sup­port­ing role in 1974 for her work along­side her fa­ther, Ryan O’Neal, in Paper­Moon. It was her film de­but and she’s on screen for nearly all of the film’s run­ning time.


The max­i­mum num­ber of Os­cars won by a sin­gle film. Three films are tied for this record – The Lord Of The Rings: Re­turn Of The King (2003), Ti­tanic (1997) and Ben-Hur (1959).


Olivia de Hav­il­land thanked 27 people in her 1947 ac­cep­tance speech when she won the Best Ac­tress Os­car for the film To Each His Own.


The num­ber of years be­tween wins; He­len Hayes won in 1932 for The Sin Of Made­lon Claudet and – again, 39 years later – in 1971 for Air­port.


Clint East­wood’s age when he won the Best Di­rec­tor award for

Mil­lionDol­larBaby in 2005, mak­ing him the old­est di­rec­tor to have won the award.


Christo­pher Plummer’s age when he won the Best Sup­port­ing Ac­tor for Beginners in 2012. This makes him the old­est win­ner of a com­pet­i­tive Os­car, sur­pass­ing Jes­sica Tandy’s age which was 80, when she won the best ac­tress award for

Driv­ing Miss Daisy.

1.8bil US$

The amount Ti­tanic (1997) earned at the box of­fice world­wide.

49mil US$

This fig­ure is The Hurt Locker’s world­wide gross, the Best Pic­ture win­ner for 2010. It also gave di­rec­tor Kathryn Bigelow the Best Di­rec­tor award – mak­ing her the first fe­male to win in this cat­e­gory.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malaysia

© PressReader. All rights reserved.