Ghedin and Vella an­nounce fi­nal squads for forth­com­ing friendlies

Malta Independent - - SPORT -

Na­tional coach Pi­etro Ghedin and Un­der-21 na­tional coach Sil­vio Vella yes­ter­day an­nounced their fi­nal squads for their forth­com­ing friendleis next week. Both sides will be in ac­tion next Tues­day with the na­tional team fac­ing Ice­land, and with the Un­der-21 side host­ing Cyprus.

For Pi­etro Ghedin this will be another im­por­tant af­ter the slen­der de­feat against Slove­nia in a World Cup qual­i­fier on Fri­day. Malta is still in search of the first point in the qual­i­fiers af­ter four matches played.

Ice­land made great strides for­ward in the last decades and are fresh from their stun­ning per­for­mances in the Euro 2016 in France, where they even man­aged to elim­i­nate mighty Eng­land.

Michael Mif­sud was in­cluded in the fi­nal list, as the Val­letta striker is search­ing for the 123 na­tional cap, which will make him the most capped player. With his pres­ence against Slove­nia Michael Mif­sud played his 122nd game with the na­tional team, reach­ing David Carabott’s mark.

Pi­etro Ghedin’s fi­nal squad for the Ice­land friendly are the fol­low­ing: Goal­keep­ers: Justin Haber (Flo­ri­ana), An­drew Hogg Hiber­ni­ans

De­fend­ers: An­drei Agius (Hiber­ni­ans), Steve Borg (Val­letta), Ryan Ca­men­zuli (Flo­ri­ana), Ryan Camil­leri (Val­letta), Clay­ton Failla (Hiber­ni­ans), Sam Ma­gri (Dover Ath­letic), Daniel Zer­afa (Tarx­ien), Joseph Zer­afa (Birkirkara)

Mid­field­ers: Luke Gam­bin (Bar­net), Bjorn Kris­tensen (Hiber­ni­ans), Rowen Mus­cat (Birkirkara), An­dre Schem­bri (Boav­ista), Gareth Sciber­ras (Birkirkara), Ryan Sci­cluna (Birkirkara), Steve Pisani (Flo­ri­ana)

For­wards: Al­fred Ef­fiong (Balzan), Jean Paul Far­ru­gia (Sliema W), Michael Mif­sud (Val­letta).

Mean­while Sil­vio Vella named his squad, which in­cludes a lot of new­com­ers to the group for the friendly match against Cyprus. The Un­der-21 squad is the fol­low­ing:

Goal­keep­ers: Jake Galea (St.An­drew’s), Philip Schranz (Tarx­ien R)

De­fend­ers: Karl Mi­callef (Pi­eta H), Kurt Zam­mit (Tarx­ien R), Dun­stin Vella (Hiber­ni­ans), Daniel Buckle (Hiber­ni­ans), Chris­tian De­gabriele (Pi­eta H), Sean Cipri­ott (Balzan)

Mid­field­ers: Zachary Scerri (Gzira U), Juan Cor­bolan (Gzira U), Jake Grech (Ham­run S), James Brin­cat (Birkirkara), Dex­ter Xuereb (Mosta), Neil Pace Cocks (Pi­eta H).

For­wards: Jur­gen Suda (Val­letta), Jur­gen De­gabriele (Hiber­ni­ans), Joseph Mbong (Hiber­ni­ans), Kyr­ian Nwoko (St.An­drew’s)

Micheal Mif­sud will be in search of his record 123rd ap­pear­ance with the na­tional team Photo Domenic Aquilina

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malta

© PressReader. All rights reserved.