Leo But­ler wins ASMK De­mo­li­tion for l-Ist­rina

Malta Independent - - SPORT -

The As­soc­jaz­zjoni Sport Mu­turi u Karozzi (ASMK) opened the ‘ASMK - Pasta Poiatti 2016/2017’ com­pe­ti­tion for Au­tocross and Mo­tocross.

On this day 39 com­peti­tors reg­is­tered for the day’s ac­tiv­i­ties. This re­sulted fol­low­ing a heavy in­vest­ment on the Au­tocross and Mo­tocross tracks which pleased all driv­ers and rid­ers. The project took three months to be fin­ished due to the heavy dam­age caused by the bad weather in the last weeks.

Mean­while, a look at the day’s event re­vealed that in the Au­tocross Classes, no­body won all the 3 heats but Philip Joe Vella on an Opel Corsa, Karl Mi­callef on a Fi­esta and Gor­don John­son on an Opel Corsa ob­tained the high­est scores of the day, thus guar­an­tee­ing their place in the Class A fi­nal race. Ter­ence Az­zopardi and Jonathan Camil­leri both on Opel Corsa cars and An­drew Pisani on a Vaux­hall Nova also won a place for this fi­nal run.

Right from the start of this fi­nal, the six cars sped off to the first corner which was im­pos­si­ble for the six cars to pass to­gether abreast at a speedy pace.

In fact Camil­leri and Pisani had to back up and con­tinue the race from the last po­si­tions. In the mean­time John­son took the lead fol­lowed by Az­zopardi and Vella to­gether with Mi­callef who man­aged to over­come Az­zopardi af­ter the first lap.

But af­ter the third lap, Vella was seen to slow down due to a me­chan­i­cal dam­age in one front wheel. This fi­nal ended with John­son win­ning and fol­lowed by Mi­callef and Az­zopardi. Pisani and Camil­leri fol­lowed in fourth and fifth places.

The Class B Au­tocross fi­nal start line was com­posed of Joseph Mi­callef on an Opel Corsa, Keith Borg on a Vaux­hall Nova, Jonathan Vella and Delia Dun­can both on a Ford Fi­esta, Noel Zam­mit on a Fiat Punto and the Opel Corsa of James Mi­callef.

Shortly be­fore the first corner caused Delia was in­volved in a dan­ger­ous con­tact move with James Mi­callef while the lat­ter con­tin­ued the ac­tion where Delia fin­ished off track. The ref­eree of the day gave a warn­ing to both driv­ers.

Joseph Mi­callef won this B fi­nal fol­lowed by Borg and Zam­mit. Fourth place win­ner was James Mi­callef and Vella fin­ished in fifth place.

For the Stan­dard Class fi­nal the start line was com­posed by Ni­covich Chir­cop on a Peu­geot 206, Deane Far­ru­gia, Ian Fenech and Melvin But­tigieg on Citroen AX cars, Karl Sci­cluna on a Peu­geot 106 and the Nova of Jo­hann Vella.

From the start Far­ru­gia took the lead fol­lowed by But­tigieg and Sci­cluna. Vella drew the at­ten­tion as he was mak­ing pres­sure on Chir­cop.

Af­ter a con­tact from Vella and over­tak­ing Chir­cop left the ref­eree to is­sue a warn­ing penalty to Vella. But­tigieg went on to lead the race to the fin­ish. Vella was later sus­pended from the race for an in­fringe­ment. This fi­nal ended with But­tigieg win­ning fol­lowed by Far­ru­gia and Sci­cluna. Fourth place fin­isher was Chir­cop while Fenech fin­ished in fifth place.

On the Mo­tocross grid, there were 14 rid­ers di­vided into the new sys­tem of classes. Dur­ing this sea­son we will have Ex­pert rid­ers in Class A, Class B for rid­ers in In­ter­me­di­ate Class, Class C for be­gin­ners and a Veteran Class for those ex-rid­ers and vet­er­ans who wish to con­tinue prac­tic­ing this sport.

Mean­while, the Mo­tocross Class A was won by Paul Mus­cat on KTM 450cc fol­lowed by David Dimech on a 450cc Honda. Trevor Mus­cat on KTM 450cc fin­ished in third place.

In the Mo­tocross Class B young Mark Mamo on Yamaha 125cc won fol­lowed by Arthur Mi­callef on KTM 250cc. Third place fin­isher was Elvin De­bono on his Kawasaki.

The Mo­tocross Class C was won by Adrian Bon­nici on a Yamaha 250cc fol­lowed by Michael Sant on a 125cc Honda. Luke Shel­don on 250cc Kawasaki fin­ished third.

The Veteran Mo­tocross Class was won by Jethro Sant on a Yamaha 250cc fol­lowed by Sant.

The day’s pro­gramme came to an end with the De­mo­li­tion Derby in­tended to take place the pre­vi­ous month. This De­mo­li­tion pre­vi­ously sched­uled for 18 De­cem­ber but was post­poned due to bad weather on that day.

This spe­cial event was at­tended by hun­dreds of spec­ta­tors. This com­pe­ti­tion is held an­nu­ally for the spec­ta­tors to en­joy while at the same time to col­lect funds for char­ity.

For this 22nd edi­tion, 14 driv­ers reg­is­tered to break their cars. The com­peti­tors were Ja­son Ma­gro on Hunter, Frank But­ler on Lada, Larkin But­ler on Hunter, Karl Mizzi on Lada, Leo But­ler on Volvo, Mar­lon Caru­ana on Ford Es­cort, Wayne Mal­lia on Volvo, Kevin Bar­bara on Ford Es­cort, Mauro Cas­sar on Lada, Matthew Mal­lia on Volvo, Clint Far­ru­gia on Volvo, Kane Pisani on Toy­ota Ca­rina, Emanuel Fenech on Pro­ton Sage & Shaw Pisani on Toy­ota Corolla.

Two laps on the track were per­formed by all cars just be­fore they started bang­ing in all di­rec­tions within the strict game rules of this race. The cars of­fered spec­tac­u­lar col­li­sions with tac­tics to keep strong on track be­fore all is sent for scrap.

Among them a Volvo car driven by Leo But­ler stood proud where, be­sides the en­gine sound and the body bumps, Leo made ma­noeu­vres to re­sist shock and dam­age caused by him and oth­ers too. It was a spec­tac­u­lar dis­play for young and old.

Af­ter a lit­tle less than 35 min­utes the game ended be­tween three cars; the Volvo and the Hunter driven by But­ler broth­ers Leo and Larkin and a Ford Es­cort Mk6 driven by Mar­lon Caru­ana.

The But­ler broth­ers tried many times to make ma­noeu­vres so Caru­ana will aban­don his car but it seemed clear that the car of Caru­ana re­sisted the pun­ish­ment well.

Only 10 min­utes be­fore the end of the race, Larkin on his Hunter re­tired so the fi­nal bat­tle was be­tween the Volvo of Leo and the Es­cort MK6 of Caru­ana.

At this stage, though Leo lost con­trol of the steer­ing and had a crushed body, Leo con­tin­ued to beat Caru­ana who de­cided to aban­don the race af­ter 44 min­utes. Leo was de­clared win­ner and both Leo and Caru­ana shook hands to­gether as is nor­mal prac­tice.

This 2016 edi­tion was won by Leo But­ler on a Volvo. Run­ner-up was Mar­lon Caru­ana on Ford Es­cort.

The next Au­tocross and Mo­tocross event is ex­pected to be held on Sun­day 22 Jan­uary and starts at 11am.

Photo: Mario Mi­callef

A scene from the De­mo­li­tion Derby

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Malta

© PressReader. All rights reserved.