Tawa Col­lege girls win na­tional cricket crown

Kapi-Mana News - - SPORT -

Spear­headed by Melie Kerr and Makay­lah Ma­son-Jones, Tawa Col­lege dom­i­nated the New Zealand sec­ondary school­girls’ cricket cham­pi­onships in Palmer­ston North in De­cem­ber.

Kerr was named player of the tour­na­ment and Ma­sonJones was equal top wicket taker, but they were strongly sup­ported by a solid all-round team ef­fort.

In their first game, against Whangarei Girls’ High School, Melie Kerr made an im­pres­sive un­beaten 50 and Tawa scored 100-4 in just 11 overs when rain in­ter­rupted play.

Whangarei, set a re­vised tar­get of 45 runs in five overs, made 36-5 in re­ply. Megan Macrae took 2-5 runs and Jess Kerr bowled a cru­cial tight fourth over.

Tawa’s sec­ond game was against 2013 run­ners-up St Hilda’s Col­le­giate, who had two Otago Sparks play­ers in their ranks.

Makay­lah Ma­son-Jones top­scored for Tawa with 35 and Megan Macrae added a use­ful 24 not out get­ting her team through to 115-6.

Tawa then turned on out­stand­ing bowl­ing and field­ing per­for­mance. Jess Kerr knocked over the St Hilda’s top or­der, tak­ing 3-12 in her four overs. Makay­lah Ma­sonJones capped off a great game by tak­ing 3-8, and Melie Kerr took 2-10, as well as con­tribut­ing two run outs and a catch.

En­ter­ing their third game, Tawa knew if they beat Auck­land’s top col­lege, St Kentigern, they would win the na­tional ti­tle.

Tawa open­ers Melie Kerr and Ma­son- Jones bat­ted through the in­nings and scored 104 with­out loss. Kerr reached 63 not out and Ma­son- Jones 36 not out, a mag­nif­i­cent ef­fort. Kerr fin- ished as the top run-scorer in the tour­na­ment and had a bat­ting av­er­age of 121.

St Kents strug­gled against the strong Tawa bowl­ing at­tack.

Jess Kerr and Roshani Thu­rais­ing­ham each bowled their four overs straight and after eight overs St Kents were re­stricted to just 15-1. They were even­tu­ally bowled out for 62. Ma­son-Jones 2-14, Melie Kerr 2- 10, Megan Macrae 2-10 and Phoenix Wil­liams 3-6.

Tawa lose only one player this year so will be strong con­tenders to re­tain the ti­tle.

Tri­umphant: Na­tional sec­ondary school cham­pi­ons Tawa Col­lege. From left, back: Makay­lah Ma­sonJones, Anna Leigh Gil­lies, Katie Blair, Danielle Wat­son, Rachael Lock­hart, Phoenix Wil­liams. Front: Roshani Thu­rais­ing­ham, Olivia Macrae, Megan Macrae, cap­tain, Melie Kerr, Jess Kerr, Jess Find­lay.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.