Can­di­dates aplenty for vot­ers to choose from


‘‘Vot­ing papers will be sent out from Septem­ber 16 and votes counted on Oc­to­ber 8.’’

Vot­ers in Porirua and Tawa are spoilt for choice when it comes to choos­ing their lo­cal body rep­re­sen­ta­tives for the com­ing three years.

Can­di­date nom­i­na­tions closed on Au­gust 12.

For the Porirua/Tawa con­stituency of Greater Welling­ton Re­gional Coun­cil, in­cum­bents Jenny Brash and Bar­bara Don­ald­son will not be elected un­op­posed as in 2013. This time Heidi Mills and Jo­ern Scherzer are also run­ning.

When it comes to Porirua City Coun­cil, 37 can­di­dates are vy­ing for just 10 seats at the ta­ble.

The Eastern ward, as it does each elec­tion, has the most names on the bal­lot.

In­cum­bents Izzy Ford, Denys Latham and John Burke are back to bid for an­other term, but the ab­sence of coun­cil­lor Litea Ah Hoi means a seat is up for grabs.

Oth­ers can­di­dates stand­ing in the east are David Watt, Faafoi Seiuli, Benna Se­veali’iSi­olo, Je­van Goul­ter, Martin Gre­gory, Morris Cheer, Sala Ni­marota, Paula MacEwan, Kylie Wi­hapi, Wil­lie Tau­rima and Lorna Kana­va­toa.

In the Western ward, 10 names are on the bal­lot for just two seats, one of them va­cated by the re­tir­ing Ken Dou­glas.

In­cum­bent ‘Ana Cof­fey will be joined in the race for the seats by TJ Fer­ma­nis, Chantelle Anslow, Jude Poin­ton, Zahi Dod­son, Henry Smith, Chris Wil­son, Ranei Wi­neera-Parai, Graeme Eb­bett and may­oral can­di­date Mike Dun­can.

The North­ern ward is the most wide open, as two of its four coun­cil­lors - Bron­wyn Kropp and Tim Shep­pard - are stand­ing down and a third, Euon Mur­rell, is only con­test­ing the may­oralty.

Anita Baker is the only coun­cil­lor from the north to put her hand up again.

She will be joined by three new coun­cil­lors out of Brian Collins, Keryn Martin, Philip Dyer, Ross Leggett, Dale Wil­liams, Nathan Wad­dle, An­drew Wel­lum, Sarah Piper, Barry McEwen, Bev­er­ley Wakem, Dianne Khan and Don Casagranda.

The Tawa Com­mu­nity Board will not have an elec­tion with six nom­i­nees for six seats.

Graeme Hansen, Richard Herbert, Mar­garet Lucas, Jack Mar­shall, Robyn Parkin­son and Jill Day can dis­card elec­tion cam­paign­ing and look for­ward to their com­ing du­ties al­ready.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.