Waikato-bred rac­ing star

Matamata Chronicle - - Property -

Ocean Park has been named Waikato-bred horse of the year.

The an­nounce­ment was made at Fri­day’s Waikato Thor­ough­bred Breeders’ Cathay Pa­cific Awards at Hamil­ton’s SkyCity.

Bred by Trelawney Stud’s Brent Tay­lor, Ocean Park won five Gr I races this sea­son and fended off 13 other Gr I win­ners bred by mem­bers of the Waikato branch of the New Zealand Thor­ough­bred Breeders’ As­so­ci­a­tion to take the supreme award.

Thorn Park stal­lion Ocean Park’s five Gr I wins were the Makfi Chal­lenge Stakes (1400m) at Hast­ings, the Gr I Un­der­wood Stakes (1800m) at Caulfield, the Caulfield Stakes (2000m), Cox Plate (2040m) at Moonee Val­ley and the New Zealand Stakes (2000m) at Eller­slie.

Trained by Gary Hen­nessy, Ocean Park has since been re­tired to Waikato Stud.

The other Gr I win­ners hon­oured were Fer­lax (bred by John Thomp­son, Alan Galbraith and Scott Wil­liams), Fleur de Lune (Ada Parn­well), Gon­dokoro (Trevor Del­roy), His­to­rian ( Irene Meade), More Than Sa­cred (Dato Yap Kim San and Yap Kian Tat), Mufhasa (Colin and John Thomp­son), Norzita ( Marc and Sarah Dev­cich), Re­cite (The Oaks Stud), Rumya (Sheikh Mo­hammed bin Khal­ifa Al Mak­toum), Sa­cred Falls (Waikato Stud), Solzhen­it­syn (Grande Vue Lodge Syn­di­cate), Vey­ron ( Alas­taire and Is­abel Barker).

Re­tir­ing Waikato Rac­ing Club chair­man David Smith was recog­nised for his con­tri­bu­tion to rac­ing and breed­ing when he was named Mills Reef per­son­al­ity of the year, while Wind­sor Park Stud’s Calum Jones was named Mary Lynne Ryan Young Achiever and Tim Welch named as the BNZ Quiet Achiever.

Win­ner: At Fri­day’s Waikato Thor­ough­bred Breeders’ Cathay Pa­cific Awards Ocean Park was named Waikato-bred horse of the year.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.