Hin­uera claim Waikato ti­tle to end 2016

Matamata Chronicle - - Out & About - ROSS MCGRAIL

The year has ended with Hin­uera Bowl­ing Club claim­ing the Waikato Women’s In­ter­club Pre­mier A ti­tle for the third year in a row.

This means that Hin­uera will rep­re­sent Waikato for both men and women in the Na­tional In­ter­club Tour­na­ment in March.

The Hin­uera Ladies went into the last two rounds of com­pe­ti­tion hold­ing a nar­row ad­van­tage over Te Awa­mutu and Toko­roa but com­fort­ably held out any chal­lenge to take the ti­tle. The team was Bev Cor­bett, Deb­bie White, Lynda Ben­nett, Jill Bergh, Mar­garet Reed, Jo­ce­lyn Holten and Jan­ice Wells.

The Hin­uera Club held its Men’s and Women’s Triples Cham­pi­onships a fort­night ago. Un­for­tu­nately only 4 teams en­tered the Men’s Com­pe­ti­tion but there was a high level of bowls played. The fi­nal was be­tween Stu Set­tle’s team of Bruce Milne and Kevin Smith play­ing Dwayne Cameron’s team of Paul Casey Snr and Jnr with Stu beat­ing Dwayne 16-10.

The Ladies Cham­pi­onship also had a small en­try of two teams. The fi­nal was be­tween 2016 Waikato Cham­pi­ons of Bev Cor­bett, Deb­bie White and Jo­ce­lyn Holten play­ing Mar­garet Reed, Max­ine Hip­per­son and Jill Bergh. Play­ing in dif­fi­cult windy con­di­tions Bev’s team took out the vic­tory.

The club held a Men’s Xmas Fours tour­na­ment spon­sored by Fairview Mo­tors Mata­mata. There were 16 teams play­ing in ideal con­di­tions. The win­ning team from Hill­crest was Neil Clarke, Jack Nicholson, Chris Bryant and Jim Hill with run­ners up be­ing Jim Sav­age, Rus­sell Mur­phy, Fraser Boyd and Norm Ed­wards from the Toko­roa club. The com­pe­ti­tion was very even which was ev­i­dent with 10 teams fin­ish­ing on two wins out of four games.

The past week­end saw the club play it’s Men’s and Women’s Pairs Cham­pi­onship. The Ladies had three en­tries with the fi­nal be­tween 2016 Waikato Cham­pi­ons Bev Cor­bett and Deb­bie White play­ing Linda Jef­fries and Jill Bergh. Bev and Deb­bie come out win­ners over Linda and Jill.

The Men’s Cham­pi­onship is down to the semi fi­nals. Stu Set­tle and Bruce Milne play Be­van Shel­ley and Phillip Hughes in one semi fi­nal with Kevin Smith and Ger­ard Slat­tery play­ing Dwayne Cameron and Paul Casey Jnr in the other in the New Year.

Last week­end also saw the com­ple­tion of two out­stand­ing Waikato Open Events at the Mor­rinsville RSA green. The fi­nal of the Men’s Triples saw Stu Set­tle, Bruce Milne and Kevin Smith play a Hill­crest team. Scores were tied play­ing the last end and Hin­uera held the shot un­til the Hill­crest skip drew the shot with a toucher to take the game 13-12. In the Men’s Sin­gles Hin­uera had Be­van Shel­ley play out his semi fi­nal against a Hill­crest op­po­nent. Af­ter hav­ing a lead, Be­van was un­able to his main­tain his con­sis­tency and lost 15-21.

Waikato In­ter­club Women’s Pre­mier A Cham­pi­ons Hin­uera: Deb­bie White, Jan­ice Wells, Bev Cor­bett, Lynda Ben­nett, Jo­ce­lyn Holten, Jill Bergh and Mar­garet Reed.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from New Zealand

© PressReader. All rights reserved.